UW-L Career ServicesJob Search Tips for Graduates

Networking:  Share your career interests with your personal and professional networks. Send a resume to those people who may be helpful in your job search.  Use social networking internet sites to locate acquaintances that may offer advice or have opportunities with their employers.  Take advantage of networking possibilities online by creating a LinkedIn profile and joining the LinkedIn groups “UW La Crosse Alumni,”  “UW La Crosse Career Services,” and other groups relevant to your career goals.
 
Applying for Positions:  Take time with your applications and make sure your resume and cover letters are targeted for the specific position. The quality of your applications is more important than the quantity. 
 
Identifying Opportunities:  Be flexible.  Keep both your career options and geographical considerations as open as possible when considering your first job. 
 
Online Job Postings:  Remember to login and view positions listed in Eagle Opportunities, the UW-L electronic job listings resource. https://www.myinterfase.com/uwlax/student/ 
 
In addition to Eagle Opportunities, we encourage you to utilize corporate websites and other internet resources. Unlike Eagle Opportunities, these resources list all jobs, not just jobs for new college graduates. Many are linked from the Career Services website at:  http://www.uwlax.edu/CareerServices/students/compjoblinks.htm
 
We also recommend Indeed.com and Simplyhired.com as very good aggregate job search engines.
 
Job Search Correspondence:  See sample letters and guidelines at: http://www.uwlax.edu/careerservices/students/letter_writing.htm.  Career Services staff members are willing to critique your correspondence via email if necessary.
 
Interviews:  Always take time to carefully research the organization, practice before the interview and follow up with the employer after the interview with thank you correspondence. Interviewing tips and sample questions are available on the Career Services Website at:  http://www.uwlax.edu/careerservices/students/interviewing.htm
 
Staffing Firms:  Many employers will use staffing agencies to fill positions temporarily. As the economy improves, these positions can turn into permanent opportunities.  All fees should be employer paid and not the responsibility of the job seeker.
 
Appointments/Questions:  To schedule an appointment with any of our staff, please telephone 785-8514, press 0. Emails may be sent directly to staff members.
 
Tim Tritch (ttritch@uwlax.edu): Interim Director
Josh Bench  (jbench@uwlax.edu): Science and Allied Health
Becky Vianden (bvianden@uwlax.edu): Business
Chris Stindt (cstindt@uwlax.edu) Exercise Science (non-teaching), Public and Community Health, Recreation
Karolyn Bald (kbald@uwlax.edu):  Liberal Studies and Arts and Communication
Brenda Leahy (bleahy@uwlax.edu):  Teacher Education