University of Wisconsin-La Crosse |


Expand page menu
Skip to page menu
  • Joint Committee on Environmental Sustainability

    About the Committee:

    The Joint Committee on Environmental Sustainability had its origins as a committee created by Faculty Senate in the fall of 2007 at the request of the Chancellor to examine the feasibility of UWL signing the  Talloires Declaration . The committee was made up of faculty, staff and students. After evaluating the Talloires Declaration's 10 action steps the committee created a document, Moving Toward a Sustainable Future at the University of Wisconsin-La Crosse (PDF), that reviewed UWL's current status related to those 10 action steps. This document was presented to the Faculty Senate, Academic Staff Council, Student Senate and Chancellor Joe Gow. The committee recommended that Chancellor Gow sign the Talloires Declaration. The Chancellor agreed with the committee's findings and did sign the Talloires Declaration on Earth Day, April 22, 2008.

    Action step 10 of the Talloires Declaration  reads:  Establish a Secretariat and a steering committee to continue this momentum, and to inform and support each other's efforts in carrying out this declaration.   In keeping with this requirement, UWL established the Joint Committee on Environmental Sustainability in May 2008 with faculty, staff and student representatives from across campus.

    Membership Roster 2015-2016

    Students for Sustainability (2)
    1.  Laura Berry
    2.  Rachel Steffen

    Student Association Environmental Sustainability Director & Another Member of Student Association

    Residence Hall Advisory Council (1)
    1.  Jacob Schimmmel

    Green Fund Coordinator

    Faculty or Instructional Academic Staff Representatives (5)

    1.  Seth King
    2.  Barrett Klein, Chair
    3.  Kelly Nowicki-Vanrooyen
    4.  John Ready
    5.  Lindsay Steiner

    Academic Staff Council Representatives (3)
    1.  Victor Hill
    2.  Dennis Rodenberg
    3.  Larry Sleznikow

    University Staff Council Representatives (2)
    1.  Isaiah Burish
    2.  Rebecca Neitzel

    STARS Coordinator (1)

    Environmental Studies Program Faculty or Academic Staff Representative
    1.  Shannon Amberg, Secretary

    University Center's Sustainability Coordinator
    1.  Drea Higgins

    Environmental Health, Occupational Safety, and Sustainability Program Manager
    1.  Dan Sweetman


    Proposal for a UWL Campus Garden



    2015-2016 JCES

    2014-2015 JCES

    2013-2014 JCES