LIR Logo. 

Learning in Retirement

Programs offer special learning opportunities for retirees


image of award cupDistinguished Service Award

In 2006 LIR established the Distinguished Service Award to be given to an outstanding LIR member or instructor at the spring breakfast meeting. In addition to receiving an award, the recipient’s name is engraved on the LIR Distinguished Service Award plaque housed outside the Office of Continuing Education in Morris Hall.

All members of LIR and all LIR instructors and program leaders, past and present (with the exception of current board members or employees of UW-L) are eligible. Any current member of LIR may make a nomination. The Executive Committee reviews the nominations and selects the recipient of the annual Distinguished Service Award.

To submit a nomination include the name of the nominee, the nominator, and 50-100 words describing the exceptional contributions this nominee has made to LIR.

Nomination Deadline: April 18, 2014

Distinguished Service Award Recipients:

2006  Jim Anderson
2007  Max and Anne Farning
2008  Tom Wirkus
2009  Jane Aarstad
2010  Lorraine McIlraith
2011  Jan Olson
2012  Phyllis Stevenson

Email or mail your nomination to:
Karen DeSchepper,, 608.785.6508
Office of Continuing Education and Extension, UW-La Crosse, 1725 State St., 205 Morris Hall, La Crosse, WI 54601