32nd Faculty Senate

Vol. 32, No. 6

October 23, 1997

I. Roll Call.

Present: Barmore, Claflin, Duquette, Egle, Grant, Haupert, Host, Kraemer (late), S. Krajewski, Lazinger, MacDonald, L. Nelson, J. Parker, N. Pati, Prucha, Reithel, D. Riley, Roskos, Shanks, Snowberg, Socha, P. Taylor, Willey, Wingate.

II. Approval of Minutes.

The minutes of the October 16, 1997, meeting were approved as distributed.

III. Chair�s Report.

No Chair�s Report.

IV. Proposed Change in the Academic Structure of UW-LaCrosse.

M/S/P the faculty senate endorses the proposed change in the academic structure of UW-LaCrosse.

    Yes: Barmore, Claflin, Duquette, Egle, Grant, Haupert, Host, Krajewski, Lazinger, MacDonald, Parker, Pati, Prucha, Reithel, Riley, Roskos, Socha, Taylor, Willey, Wingate.

    No: Shanks, Snowberg.

    Abstain: Nelson.

Dr. Paul Theobald addressed the Faculty Senate concerning reorganization.

V. Old Business.

VI. New Business.

A. Affirmative Action Officer, Al Thompson, has extended an invitation to senators to attend tomorrow�s Design for Diversity Forum from 11-12:30 p.m. (faculty, academic staff, and classified staff forum), or the open forum from 4-5:00 p.m. in 325 Main Hall.

B. The SEC has discussed the Utilization of Retired Faculty Policy (listed below) and offers an amendment to bullet #2.

    The University recognizes that retired faculty members continue to be a valuable resource in support of its mission and goals. Such faculty who are interested in serving the university and its students MAY BE afforded opportunities to serve as part-time instructors under the following guidelines:

      · such ad hoc appointments will be academic staff appointments, at no more than .50 F.T.E.

      · appointments will be limited to one year, but may be renewable

      · salary will be set no higher than 40% of the final academic year salary for the equivalent of a .50 F.T.E. appointment

      · such appointments will be made only upon the recommendation of the department and the dean, and the approval of the Chancellor

      · any extensions of existing contracts with retired staff members should be negotiated pursuant to these guidelines

M/S to amend by replacing bullet #2 with: appointments may be made up to a maximum of three years

M/S/P to amend further to read: appointments may be made for up to three years, and may be renewable. (voice vote)

M/S/F to table the main motion. (show of hands: 9 yes, 13 no, 2 abstain)

The main motion, as amended, passed. (show of hands: 19 yes, 3 no, 2 abstain)

C. M/S/P the following faculty nominees to serve on the search committee for the Dean of the College of Liberal Studies: Judith Green, Terence Kelly, Susannah Lloyd, Audie Olson, James Parker.

D. Provost/Vice Chancellor Lambert thanked the senate for the seriousness and care demonstrated during the discussion/debate of the proposed reorganization proposal.

VII. Adjournment.

The meeting adjourned at 3:55 p.m.

Submitted by

James Parker, Secretary