32nd Faculty Senate

Vol. 32, No. 2

September 11, 1997

I. Roll Call.

Present: Claflin, Duquette, Egle, Grant, Haupert, Host, Kraemer, S. Krajewski, Lazinger, MacDonald, L. Nelson, J. Parker, N. Pati, Prucha, Reithel, D. Riley, Roskos, Shanks, Snowberg, Socha, P. Taylor, Willey, Wingate.

Excused: Barmore.

II. Approval of Minutes.

The minutes of the May 1, 1997, (31st Faculty Senate) meeting were approved as distributed. The minutes of the May 1, 1997, (32nd Faculty Senate) meeting were approved as distributed.

III. Chair�s Report.

A. Nominations for two ad hoc committees are being sought. The ad hoc Calendar Committee will look at issues like the week off at Thanksgiving, Commencement Ceremony on Mother�s Day, and the lack of a study day between the end of classes and the beginning of final exams. The ad hoc Honors Program Committee will examine possible new approaches to honors program education at UW-L, and ways to heighten its visibility and prominence on campus.

B. Faculty Representative, Mike Haupert reported, that the pay plan has been approved, with the increases reflected in checks distributed later in the semester; and Badger Net discussions will begin in late October.

C. Chancellor Kuipers reported that, the approved pay plan reflects a 4% increase the first year of the biennium and a 4.5% increase the second year; the administration is addressing the incidences of hate notes found in the dorms; and the Provost/Vice-Chancellor is meeting with representatives from the Richland Center campus.

D. Provost/Vice-Chancellor Lambert announced that UW-L fall enrollment has exceeded the UW-S target by 200 students; that the 1997-98 UW-L planning and budget process has been presented in detail to the Senate Executive Committee. He expects to follow the procedure established this past year with Deans/Directors providing his office with requests by October 15th, a first draft response in the hands of governance by November 1st, and a report back date not later than December 15th. The second draft will be ready for review/discussion by February 1st.

IV. SEC Proposed Appointments to Committees.

M/S/P to approve the following Senate Executive Committee nominees:

A. Joint Promotion Committee. (3-yr terms) Judith Green, Gary MacDonald, Akorlie Nyatepe-Coo, Gubbi Sudhakaran. The remainder of the committee and their terms include: (2-yr continuing terms) John Castek, Dan Duquette, James Parry, William Pemberton. (1-yr continuing term) Nancy Navar, Curt Reithel, Barbara Rusterholz, Helen Skala.

B. Academic Priorities Committee. (3-yr terms) Isolina Battistozzi, Leslie Oganowski, Niranjan Pati. The remainder of the committee and their terms include: (2-year continuing terms) Tom Gendreau-Convener, Charles Marx, Joyce Shanks. (1-yr continuing term) Alan Bigel, Steve Brokaw, Roland Roskos.

C. Consultative Layoff Committee. (3-yr terms) Andy Matchett-SAH, Joy Pahl-CBA, Sara Sullivan-CLS. The remainder of the committee and their terms include: (2-yr continuing terms) Judy Pace-HPER, Tom Scarseth-CLS, Greg Wegner-CLS. (1-yr continuing term) Thomas Claflin, Convener-SAH, Dianne Morrison-CBA, James Parker- CLS.

D. Joint Legislative/Regents Relations Committee. Mike Haupert (by-law member), Joe Heim, Jim Parker.

E. Faculty Ombudspersons. Susannah Lloyd, James Parker, Sue Willey.

F. Parking Appeals Board. Mike Abler-member, Bruce Osterby-alternate.

G. Committee on Faculty Committees. Dan Duquette, Gary MacDonald-Convener, Jim Parker, Roland Roskos, Sue Willey.

H. Elections Committee. Tom Claflin-Convener, Roger Grant, Richard Snowberg.

V. Approval of Nominees for Search Committee, College of Science & Allied Health Dean.

M/S/P to approve the following nominees to the Search Committee for the College of Science & Allied Health Dean:

Mike Egle-Computer Science, Linda Host-Mathematics, George Huppert-Geography/Earth Science, Mark Sandheinrich- Biology/Microbiology, Gubbi Sudhakaran-Physics.

VI. Overview of Faculty Senate Agenda for Semester I, 1997-98.

Chair Haupert presented the following schedule for the remaining faculty senate meetings for the semester: September 18, 1997 - reorganization presentation by Leo Lambert. October 2, 1997 - open forum on reorganization (Valhalla A). October 16, 1997 - reorganization discussion/feedback/individual thoughts. October 23, 1997 - reorganization vote. November 6, 1997, November 20, 1997, December 4, 1997, December 11, 1997.

VII. Discussion of How the Senate Will Run the Open Forum on the College Reorganization Proposal.

Chair Haupert reviewed the procedures for the open forum on the proposed reorganization agreed upon by the Senate Executive Committee. Senators will hear feedback exclusively from individuals outside the membership of the faculty senate. Approximately 30 minutes prior to the beginning of the meeting there will be a sign-up sheet for speakers who will be restricted to five minutes of testimony. Following the testimony there will be an opportunity for a questions/answers period.

VIII. Old Business.

Senator Willey inquired about the Second Reading on the membership paragraph of the Joint Budget Committee. Dr. Haupert thanked her for the reminder and indicated that he will put it on next week�s faculty senate agenda.

IX. New Business.

To avoid a delay in receiving SEC minutes, Senator Kraemer requested that they be sent by e-mail rather than the customary method of distributing them with the faculty senate agenda.

Senator Lazinger also recommended that e-mail addresses for members of the faculty senate be published in the Campus Connection and/or posted on the official senate web site.

Chair Haupert took note and responded that indeed the web site is under construction and that soon, in addition to faculty senate minutes, the 1997-98 Committee Membership list, the Articles of Faculty Organization, and the By-laws will be on the web page.

X. Adjournment.

The meeting adjourned at 4:00 p.m.

                Submitted by

                James Parker, Secretary