10:00am – 327 Graff Main Hall

July 15, 2009


Members:  Joe Heim, Kerrie Hoar, Becky LeDocq, Adrienne Loh (via conference call) & Bart Van Voorhis

Visitors:  Bob Hoar


  1. Chair’s Report:
    1. Furloughs:  January 15, 2010, and January 14, 2011, have been forwarded to UWS as official all-university furlough days for UWL.  Since these dates fall during J-term, they will need to be approved by Faculty Senate as non-instructional days.  SEC will bring the following motion to the first Faculty Senate meeting of the 2009-10 academic year for approval.  The Faculty Senate designates January 15, 2010, and January 14, 2011, as non-instructional days.  (M/S/P)
    2. Dates:  The following dates will be scheduled for fall semester Faculty Senate meetings:  9/17, 10/1, 10/15, 10/29, 11/12, 12/3 & 12/17 (if needed).  Spring dates will be scheduled as soon as the BOR has approved their spring meeting dates.


  1. Posterous Website (Bob Hoar):  This website could be used to keep the campus community and committees updated on what is going on in Faculty Senate and its committees.  Very simply, this website is a free service for educational entities.  Each committee would have its own “blog” site to which all agendas and minutes could be added by simply including the blogs email address in the committee email list. 
    1. How does this site differ from the Faculty Senate website?  Agendas are not posted to the FS website and there is a significant time lag for the posting of minutes.
    2. What if something is posted by accident?  Someone will be in charge of monitoring this site and committee chairs/secretaries would need to be instructed on what items should be included on this website.
    3. When would we begin using this site?  Fall 2009 implementation. 
    4. SEC will discuss Posterous further at its next meeting.


  1. Committee Nominations:


    1. Joint Promotion Committee:  (M/S/P)

2-year continuing term

Gwen Achenreiner

Tom Kernozek

Kim Vogt

Gubbi Sudhakaran (replacement for Bruce Riley)

1-year continuing term                                           

Roger Haro

Sharon Jessee

Aaron Monte

Ronda Smith                                                           

3-year continuing term:

Gary Walth

Jodi Vandenberg-Daves

Gary Gilmore

Steve Senger


    1. Consultative Layoff:  (M/S/P)

2-year continuing term

Joe Anderson (CLS) – Associate

Eric Kraemer (CLS) – Professor

Mark Gibson (SAH) - Assistant                                                                                         

1-year continuing term                                                       

Sandra Krajewski (CLS) – Professor

Gwyn Straker (SAH) – Assistant                          

Andrew Stapleton (CBA)  (replacement for Paul Keaton)

3-year continuing term

Diane Morrison (CBA)

Bruce Osterby (SAH)

Bradley Butterfield (CLS)


    1. IAS Career Progression Committee:  (M/S/P)

2-year continuing term

Suzanne Anglehart – SAH

Kerrie Hoar - SAH                                                                                       

1-year continuing term                                                       

Elise Denlinger (IAS Committee Rep) – CLS

Melissa Wallace - CLS

3-year continuing term

Betsy Knowles – CBA

Thomas Reinert - CLS


    1. Committee on Faculty Committees:  (M/S/P)

Steve Brokaw - convener

Virginia Crank

Tom Gendreau

Jeff Baggett

Deb Hoskins


    1. Senate Elections Committee:  (M/S/P)

Joe Anderson

Jennifer Miskowski

Sarah Shillinger


    1. Ombudspersons:  (M/S/P)

Mike Abler - SAH

Kim Vogt - CLS

Keith Sherony – CBA

It was mentioned that the role and availability of Ombudspersons needs to be better communicated to the campus community.


  1. Faculty Senate Replacements:  Both Bruce Riley (at-large senator) and Brian Udermann (SAH senator) will need to be replaced due to their new administrative duties.  Chuck Lee may be a viable candidate for the at-large seat.  The SAH seat has no backups from the latest election, so names will need to be submitted.  SEC will discuss seat replacements at its next meeting.
  2. Faculty Senate Standing Committee Charges for 2009-10:  Special charges were discussed (through Hearing committee).  The discussion will be continued at the next SEC meeting.


Adjourned at 12:06pm.

Respectfully submitted by Kerrie Hoar, secretary