Scholarship and Awards Committee Meeting – Feb. 2, 2005


Present:  Jeff Boyle, Brad Butterfield, Victoria Calmes, John Colton, Scott Dickmeyer, James Gray, Ann Hendricks, Michael Jackson (chair), Kelli Zelinger (Victoria and Kelli had to leave early due to other commitments)


Absent:  Norine Friell, Kara Schutts and Joseph Moreland (all excused)


Meeting was called to order at 4:30 p.m.


The meeting began with a discussion regarding the scholarships in general, followed by interviews for the Thrune scholarships. Further discussion of the scholarships continued.  The committee unanimously (7/0/0) decided upon the rankings of the students for all of the scholarships, and the results were given to Barb Katrana.  The Committee did make several suggestions for future scholarship reviews:


  1. For scholarships having less than 30 applicants, committee members should rank all of the students (e.g. 1 through 30, or however many applicants there were) rather than just the top several (e.g. 1 through 12, or however many rankings are required by the Scholarship Office).
  2. For scholarships where financial need may be considered, a line should be added to the scholarship application material to clarify that students should specifically address this criterion, and should provide evidence of financial need if possible.
  3. Due to the size of the scholarships, a separate subcommittee (2 members is sufficient) should be formed to evaluate the Charles and Lillian Gay Scholarship Endowment Fund, Frank and Margaret Kent Scholarship Fund and the Larry Lebiecki Scholarship.


The next meeting is scheduled for Wednesday, March 2, 2005 at 4:30 p.m. in the Cleary Center conference room.  At this time, the Murphy Awards will be discussed.  Candidates will have their application materials in by Friday, Feb. 11.  The application folders will be placed at the reserve desk in Murphy Library by Tuesday, Feb. 15.  Ballots will be sent out to committee members by e-mail and should be returned to Mike Jackson by Friday Feb. 25.  Members of the committee should rank all 13 applicants, with 1 being the highest.