Friday, November 18, 2005-10:00 a.m.

325 Graff Main Hall


Members Present:    Vijendra Agarwal, (Chair), Rob Dixon (Co-chair), Thomas Krueger,  Tom Kuffel, Kasi Periyasamy, Tiffany Rausch (Student Rep.),

Steve Simpson, Michele Thorman



Members Excused:  George Arimond, Tracie Blumentritt, Yang II Park, Dan Sutherland,  Andrea Von Dollen (Student Rep.)


Consultants Present:  Bruce May, Charles Martin-Stanley, Karen Mc Lean,


Consultants Excused:  Diane Schumacher, Teri Staloch


1.         The meeting was called to order at 10:05 by Rob Dixon.


2.         A motion was made, seconded and passed to approve the minutes of November 4, 2005.


3.         The discussion on Travel Grants was postponed until the next meeting because

            Teri Staloch was unable to be present.


4.         Graduate Faculty Membership was discussed.  First, all faculty applicants receiving affirmative votes by both members of the review committee were voted unanimously for the requested Grad Faculty status.


            Subsequently, the Grad Council discussed the remaining four applications one at a time where one of the members of the review team had some reservations.  Following the discussion, all four faculty members were elected to be in the Grad Faculty status they requested.


            CBA:  3 Full and 1 Associate

            CLS:  3 Full, 6 Associate, 6 Affiliate, and 1 Assistant

            SAH:  11 Full, 2 Associate, and 3 Affiliate


5.         Vijendra Agarwal provided an overview on the current binding fee of $12/thesis and how the costs are rising.  A motion was made, seconded and passed to raise the binding fee to $15/thesis effective January 2006.


6.         Vijendra Agarwal raised the issue of developing uniform guidelines for thesis which will include the cover page, signature page and formatting requirements.  The Council consented that he should have various thesis manuals reviewed and then he should make a proposal for uniform guidelines in a future meeting.


Vijendra Agarwal discussed the differential treatment accorded to theses and capstone project reports which are graduation requirements in most graduate programs.  Theses are signed by members of the committee, edited by an Editor appointed by the Office of Graduate Studies, signed by the Graduate Studies Director and bound before being added to the UW-L Library collection.  On the other hand, there is no quality control on project reports or seminar papers and not all of them are bound and sent to the library.


The Council discussed the quality issue and approved (six yes and one abstention) that the Graduate Programs, wishing to have their project reports and seminar papers become part of the UW-L Library collection, should follow the similar editing, binding and signature process as is now done for theses.  The Graduate Program Director in consultation with program faculty will make the decision whether a project report or seminar paper meets the quality standards to be approved for the library collection.


7.         Vijendra Agarwal gave an overview of his participation in the hearings conducted by the Academic Initiative Oversight Committee on November 16, 2005.  The Council should expect to hear the Committee recommendation on funding by the end of this year.


8.         Vijendra Agarwal announced that the first meeting of Graduate Program Directors is scheduled on November 30, 2005.  In the future, his goal is to meet with them twice a semester in order to build a community.


9.         Meeting adjourned:  10:55 a.m.


NOTE:  Correction on minutes for November 4, 2005:  Steve Simpson was excused from the meeting, not absent as recorded.


Respectfully submitted,


Vijendra Agarwal


c.         Graduate Council Members

            Department Chairs

            Graduate Program Directors

            Faculty Senate

            Graduate Council File