Friday, October 10, 2008-10:00 a.m.

325 Graff Main Hall


Members Present:        Rob Dixon, Ashley Olson, Glenn Wright, Jim Finch, Carol Angell, S.N. Rajagopal, Scott Swedeen, Tom Kuffel, Bernadette Taylor-Winfrey, Dave Reineke

Members Excused:       Vijendra Agarwal, Kenny Hunt, Michele Thorman

Consultants Present:    Bruce May

Others Present:             Bill Schwan



The meeting was called to order at 10:01 am by Rob Dixon.


1.      M/S/P (10-0-0) to approve minutes from September 19, 2008 meeting with the modification that Ashley Olson be listed under “Members Excused” rather than “Members Absent.”


2.   NCUR 2009 Presentation by Bill Schwan


Bill Schwan, Program Chair 2009 NCUR, presented the great need for moderators and volunteers for NCUR to be held at UW-L on April 16-18, 2009.  Bill stressed that participating in NCUR as a moderator would be an excellent experience for our graduate students and asked that Mike Kennedy would send the “request for Moderators/Volunteers” document to all graduate students and program directors.  An informal deadline for graduate students to sign up as a moderator or volunteer was given as March 1, 2009, with the understanding that volunteers would be accepted up until the time of the conference.


Bill stressed that ALL members of the university community are encouraged and welcomed to contribute to the success of NCUR at UW-L in whatever capacity they are willing to serve, with a particular emphasis on moderating presentation sessions.  Training will be help for all moderators prior to the conference. 


3.   Grad Faculty sub-committee


Rob Dixon told the committee that the new applications for Graduate Faculty membership were in and ready for review and reminded the committee that each application must be reviewed by someone within the applicant’s college and someone outside the applicant’s college. 


Due to the distribution of the number of applicants from each college (CBA, CLS, and SAH) it was necessary to call on additional Graduate Council members to review Graduate Faculty applications.  Rob Dixon, Carol Angell, and S.N. Rajagopal agreed to assist the Graduate Faculty sub-committee (Tom Kuffel, Bernadette Taylor-Winfrey, and Jim Finch) with the reviews.


Meeting adjourned:  10:20 a.m.


Respectfully submitted,


Dave Reineke


C:         Graduate Council Members

            Department Chairs

            Graduate Program Directors

            Faculty Senate

            Graduate Council File