Friday, September 26, 2008-10:00 a.m.

325 Graff Main Hall


Members Present:        Rob Dixon, Kenny Hunt, Glenn Wright, Jim Finch, Carol Angell, S.N. Rajagopal, Michele Thorman, Scott Swedeen, Tom Kuffel, Bernadette Taylor-Winfrey, Dave Reineke

Members Excused:       Vijendra Agarwal, Ashley Olson

Consultants Present:    Chris Bakkum, Charles Martin-Stanley, Bruce May, Ray Abhold

Others Present:             Callie Frieler



The meeting was called to order at 10:03 am by Rob Dixon.


1.      M/S/P (11-0-0) to approve minutes from September 12, 2008 meeting.


2.      Announcements/Introductions


Members once again introduced themselves and identified their respective department or office.  Kenny Hunt joins the GC as GCC chair.


3.      Grad Student Survey: Introducing Callie Frieler


Ms. Frieler described the graduate student survey and solicited feedback from the GC.  There was some discussion about the survey.  Questions, concerns, and suggestions from GC members were requested to be sent to Callie by e-mail, phone, or in person.


4.      Faculty Senate Charge


Rob reminded the GC of our usual duties and responsibilities and spoke briefly about the two special charges that we will address this year:


  • As a result of the special charge that was given to your committee last year, it is recommended that you meet with UW-L Foundation representatives regarding increased funding for GA/TA positions; and,
  • with area State Legislatures to determine the feasibility of increasing the number of tuition waivers available for graduate students.  Please report to the Senate Executive Committee on the progress of these two initiatives.


5.      Committee Appointments:


(a). Advisory Committee: 

      Vijendra Agarwal, Rob Dixon, Carol Angell, Michelle Thorman, Ashley Olson


(b). RSEL grants committee:

      Glenn Wright, Dave Reineke, Scott Swedeen


(c). Grad Faculty Application review:

      Tom Kuffel, Bernadette Taylor-Winfrey, Jim Finch


6.      Approval of Professional Travel Grants


M/S/P (11-0-0) to approve the consensus recommendations presented by the GC Advisory Committee.


Rob Dixon read a list of “Points of Clarification/Consideration” about Travel Grants from the GC Advisory Committee.  One point that the GC would like to discuss at a future meeting is the source of funds for Travel Grants and the eligibility of MEPD students for funding.  It is expected that VJ Agarwal can provide more information about this at a future meeting.


7.      New Business


Ray Abhold brought an issue before the GC on behalf of VJ Agarwal that current text in the Graduate Thesis Guidelines states that The Chairperson of a thesis committee “should be an individual with a full graduate faculty status from the student’s department of study” and currently there are 3 graduate students who are unable to include certain faculty members on their committees because the full graduate faculty status of the desired faculty member is not in the department of the student. 


M/S/P (11-0-0) to approve the motion “Graduate faculty status travels with a faculty member.” 



Meeting adjourned:  11:09 a.m.


Respectfully submitted,


Dave Reineke


C:         Graduate Council Members

            Department Chairs

            Graduate Program Directors

            Faculty Senate

            Graduate Council File