To: Becky LeDocq, Chair, Faculty Senate

From: Jon Hasenbank, Chair, Scholarship and Awards Committee (2009-2010)

Re:  Scholarship and Awards Committee Final Report

Date:  June 3, 2010


1. The Scholarship and Awards Committee consisted of the following members:

·        Faculty:  Al Gedicks, David Hart, Darlene Lake, Roghaieh Ghodsian, Jon Hasenbank, Sharon Scherwitz, Peter Haried, Jess  Hollenback, Theodore Wendt.

·        Students: Tyler Burkart, Chris Callaway, Katie Grabanski

·        Nonvoting: Sara Olson (UWL Foundation Scholarship Coordinator)


2. J. Hasenbank served as Chair and T. Wendt served as Recorder.


3. All members of the committee actively participated in the screening of applications for scholarships and awards and in recommending their recipients, with the exception of one member.


4. The committee met three times during the year:

·         The initial organizational meeting Sept 25, 2009

·         A meeting on Feb. 19, 2010, where review procedures were discussed and finalized, tasks were assigned, and deadlines were established.

·         A meeting on March 10, 2010, where recommendations were made for most awards.

·         A meeting on March 24, 2010, where the Thrune interviews were conducted and a recommendation was made for the Thrune award recipient.


5. The following scholarships and awards were handled by the committee:

·         Murphy Award for Academic Excellence

·         Mary Hanson Scholarship

·         Harring Scholarship

·         Larry Lebiecki Scholarship

·         Stuart Morton McIlraith Scholarship

·         Fred A. Singer Scholarship

·         Michael G. Skemp Memorial Fund

·         Richard and Ethel Thrune Scholarship

·         Harold H. Weisse Award Fund

·         Esther Risberg West Award

·         Xcel Energy Scholarship


6. The committee adhered to following procedures:


·         The committee established a 3 person “subcommittee” compromised of J. Hasenbank, J. Hollenback, and T. Wendt responsible for reviewing the three scholarships with the most applicants—Harring, Lebiecki, and McIlraith.  Those individuals were excused from reviewing all other scholarship except the Thrune scholarships and the Murphy awards.

·         All rankings were sent to the J. Hasenbank prior to the March 10 meeting. J. Hasenbank entered the rankings in a spreadsheet to calculate the mean, trimmed mean, and median rankings of reviewers. The award candidates were sorted according to these measures. The rankings were then distributed to committee members to aid as a starting point for discussion.