Friday, September 11, 2009 - 10:00 a.m.

325 Graff Main Hall


Members Present:        Rob Dixon, Kasi Periyasamy, Vijendra Agarwal, Glenn Wright, Michele Thorman, Bernadette Taylor, Abdulaziz Elfessi, Tom Krueger


Consultants Present:    Charles Martin-Stanley, Ray Abhold, Chris Bakkum, Bruce May


Members excused:        Jim Finch, Kristin Van Vleet, Carol Angell


Guests:                           Carla Burkhardt, Sandi Keller, Maighread McHugh


The meeting was called to order at 10:00 a.m. by VJ Agarwal.


1.      Announcements – all by VJ Agarwal


Special charges that Graduate Council has been asked to report on by the Faculty Senate.  These include the graduate student issues of continuous registration policy, English language requirements and criteria used to determine full time status.


Funds are still available for out of state graduate student tuition fee waivers.


Funds may be requested from the Apportionment Fee Committee to support visiting speakers to enhance the visibility of graduate programs on campus.  Other visibility-enhancing ideas such as open house events were discussed.


The deadline for RSEL grant submission has been pushed back to October 16 and there will be a graduate student grant writing workshop on September 28.


2.      The following were elected for the respective positions:


Rob Dixon: Chair

Bernadette Taylor: Secretary

Tom Krueger: Vice Chair


Rob Dixon took over the Graduate Council meeting which led to the following business:


a. Graduate Council officers along with VJ Agarwal, Chris Bakkum, and a grad student (yet to be named) will make up the Grad Council Advisory Committee.


b. M/S/P (8-0-0) to immediately separate the RSEL grant limit of $1,600.00 from the Professional Travel grants.


c. Michelle Thorman and Abdul Elfessi volunteered to serve on the Graduate Faculty application review committee. Kasi Periyasamy and Glenn Wright volunteered to serve on the RSEL grants review committee. A graduate student is yet to be named for this committee.


Meeting adjourned:  11:00 a.m.


Respectfully submitted,


Bernadette Taylor



C:        Graduate Council Members

            Department Chairs

            Graduate Program Directors

            Faculty Senate

            Graduate Council File