UW-L Faculty Senate Academic Planning Committee

September 20, 2010, 3:20 pm, French Conference Room/123 Mitchell Hall


Present: Jess Hollenback (History); David Riley (Computer Science); Shauna Sallmen (Physics); Bradley Seebach (Biology); Shelley Sinclair (History); Joseph Tiffany (Sociology/Archaeology), Jan Von Ruden (Guest, Registrar), Chia-Chen Yu (Exercise and Sports Science)


Absent: Thomas Greiner and Christopher Frye (excused—meeting schedule conflict with teaching and meeting, respectively).



  1. Called to order at 3:25 pm by convener Chia-Chen Yu.

2.      Election of Chair and Secretary. Joseph A. Tiffany was elected as the Chair of the Academic Planning Committee for the 2010-2011 academic year (7-0-0). The duty of Secretary will be passed each time.

  1. Academic Planning Committee activities for 2008-2010 highlighted:

·         Online education and courses

·         Program planning and reviews

4.      Joseph Tiffany gave an overview of committee charge for 2010-2011 academic year.

-          “Although no special charge is being given to the committee this year, should the membership wish to bring any policy issues to the attention of the senate, it should certainly do so. Any recommendations that the committee would like to make to the senate should be submitted to our office in a timely fashion.”

  1. The committee discussed having the registrar a consultant on the Academic Planning Committee.

-          Jan Von Ruden explained the rationales to consider adding Chris Bakkum, registrar, to the committee as a consult.

o   Making the registrar a consultant on the committee would keep the registrar informed and ensure that the registrar is aware of possible changes well in advance.

-          The committee suggested that “the faculty senate amendment the by-law for the Academic Planning Committee to include the registrar as a consultant, a non-voting member.” (7-0-0).


  1. A decision was made that a new meeting time of 4:25 pm on the 2nd or the 4th Mondays would work well for all of the members.


  1. Next Meeting: The chair will notify the committee.


  1. Meeting adjourned at 3:46 pm.



Respectfully submitted by Chia-Chen Yu