Geography / Earth Science Faculty and Staff Directory
Dr. Cynthia Berlin (Chair)

Faculty and Academic Staff

Cynthia Berlin  Dr. Cynthia Berlin, Professor (1999)
Department Chair
Ph.D. in Geography
Indiana State University

Office: 2027 Cowley Hall
Phone: 608.785.8340
E-Mail: cberlin@uwlax.edu
Web Page
Rafique Ahmed  Dr. Rafique Ahmed, Professor (1985)
Ph.D. in Geography
Ohio State University


Office: 2023 Cowley Hall
Phone: 608.785.8341
E-Mail: rahmed@uwlax.edu
Web Page 
Colin Belby  Dr. Colin Belby, Assistant Professor (2009)
Ph.D. in Geography
University of Wisconsin-Madison


Office: 2021 Cowley Hall
Phone: 608.785.8339
E-Mail: cbelby@uwlax.edu
Web Page 
Dr. Joan Bunbury  Dr. Joan Bunbury, Assistant Professor (2012)
Ph.D. in Geography
University of Ottawa


Office: 2025 Cowley Hall
Phone: 608.785.8402
E-Mail: jbunbury@uwlax.edu
Web Page 
Dr. Gargi Chaudhuri  Dr. Gargi Chaudhuri, Assistant Professor (2012)
Ph.D. in Geography
University of California, Santa Barbara


Office: 2031 Cowley Hall
Phone: 608.785.8338
E-Mail: gchaudhuri@uwlax.edu
Web Page 
Georges Cravins  Dr. Georges Cravins, Professor (1990)
Ph.D. in Geography
Clark University


Office: 2015 Cowley Hall
Phone: 608.785.6674
E-Mail: gcravins@uwlax.edu
Web Page 
Jeff Kueny  Jeff Kueny, Lecturer (2007)
ABD in Geography
University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee


Office: 133 Wittich Hall
Phone: 608.785.8337
E-Mail: jkueny@uwlax.edu
Web Page
Ian Muehlenhaus  Dr. Ian Muehlenhaus, Assistant Professor (2011)
Ph.D. in Geography
University of Minnesota


Office: 2020 Cowley Hall
Phone: 608.785.6675
E-Mail: imuehlenhaus@uwlax.edu
Web Page
Dr. Daniel Sambu Dr. Daniel Sambu, Assistant Professor (2013)
Ph.D. in Geography
University of Oklahoma


Office: 2031 Cowley Hall
Phone: 608.785.8342
E-Mail: dsambu@uwlax.edu
Web Page 
Rachel Slocum  Dr. Rachel Slocum, Assistant Professor (2010)
Ph.D. in Geography
Clark University


Office: 2024 Cowley Hall
Phone: 608.785.8335
E-Mail: rslocum@uwlax.edu
Web Page 
   

Support Personnel

Karen Ott, Academic Department Associate (2004)

Office: 2004 Cowley Hall
Phone: 608.785.8333
E-Mail: kott@uwlax.edu
Birgit Muehlenhaus, Lab Manager and Media Specialist (2013)

Office: 241 Cowley Hall
Phone: 608.785.8336
E-Mail: bmuehlenhaus@uwlax.edu

Retired Faculty

Dr. Greg Chu
Ph.D. in Geography
University of Hawaii - Manoa
Years of teaching service: 1993 - 2010

E-Mail: chu.greg@uwlax.edu
Department Web Page   Emeritus Web Site
Dr. Mehmet Aritan
Ph.D. in Geography
University of Kentucky
Years of teaching service: 1979 - 2009

E-mail: aritan.mehm@uwlax.edu
Web Page
Dr. Harun Rashid
Ph.D. in Geography
University of Saskatchewan
Years of teaching service: 2004 - 2009

E-mail: rasid.haru@uwlax.edu
Web Page
Dr. Dean Wilder
Ph.D. in Geography
University of Colorado - Boulder
Years of teaching service: 1978 - 2008

E-mail: wilder.dean@uwlax.edu
Web Page
Dr. Robert Wingate
Ph.D. in Geography
University of Minnesota
Years of teaching service: 1965 - 2005

E-Mail: wingate.robe@uwlax.edu
Web Page
Dr. Paul Stoelting
Ph.D. in Geography
University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee
Years of teaching service: 1986 - 2004

E-mail: stoeltin.paul@uwlax.edu
Dr. Virgil Holder
Ph.D. in Geography
University of Minnesota
Years of teaching service: 1965 - 2002

E-mail: holder.virg@uwlax.edu
Mr. John Hoefer
M.S. in Geography
University of Wisconsin-Madison
Years of teaching service: 1966 - 1990