University of Wisconsin-La Crosse |

Mathematics and Statistics

Expand page menu
Skip to page menu
  • Student awards

    Congratulations to the 2013 Honors Awards Recipients!

    • Outstanding Senior Award: Stephanie Acker
    • James Sobota Scholarship: Sara Kamoske
    • Outstanding Service Award: Megan Riley



    Each Spring, the Mathematics Department honors awards to three students in the Mathematics Department. The students are nominated by a faculty or staff  member in the department, and the winner is chosen by all the faculty. The following awards are granted:

    • an Outstanding Senior Mathematics Student award.  The Senior receives a certificate, and a gift.

    • an Outstanding Junior Mathematics Student award*. The Junior receives a certificate, and scholarship.

    • an Mathematics Department Outstanding Service award. 

    *In 2013, the Mathematics Department voted to change the Outstanding Junior award to the James Sobota Mathematics Scholarship to honor Dr. James Sobota's many years of dedication and service to the department.

    For each, the award recipient has their name engraved on a plaque displayed in Cowley Hall.


    Previous Award Recipients

    Year Outstanding Junior Award/ James Sobota Scholarship Outstanding Senior Award  Outstanding Service Award
    Sara Kamoske    
    *First year of James Sobota Scholarship 
    Stephanie Acker Megan Riley     
    2012      Ali Khalili      Zachary Fischer Susan Frankki