Wisconsin resident undergraduate students who have earned 165 credits or 30 credits more than required for their degree programs, whichever is greater, are charged a surcharge equal to 100 percent of the regular resident tuition, on credits beyond that level. The policy covers all Wisconsin resident undergraduate students pursuing their first bachelor’s degree, including students pursuing a double major. Minnesota residents and non-residents graduate, post-baccalaureate, and non-degree students are exempt. All credits earned at UW System campuses and WTCS transfer credits accepted toward a degree are counted in the total. Retroactive, AP, military and other college transfer credits do not count. The surcharge is applied to students in the semester following the one in which they reach the earned credit limit. Once it has been levied, a student has the right to appeal the surcharge to the assistant controller.