University of Wisconsin-La Crosse | uwlax.edu

Residence Life
Expand menu


  • Meet the ORL Family

    Hang around the Office of Residence Life very long and you will hear about the “ORL Family”. We are proud of our program, and we get to work with dedicated, deliberate, and amazing professionals. We also work with some of the best students you will find at any college around the country; students who are truly invested in their education and extracurricular commitments. The ORL Family values small communities that make it easy to connect with others and make our campus feel like home.

    Dr. Nick Nicklaus
    Dr. Nick Nicklaus
    Director of Residence Life
    (608) 785-8075
    nnicklaus@uwlax.edu
    Education:
    Bowling Green State University: History & Sociology
    Bowling Green State University: College Student Personnel
    Ball State University: Adult & Community Education
    Favorite Quote:
    "We often do not see things as they are but rather as we want them to be."
    April Handtke
    April Handtke
    Assistant Director of Residence Life
    (608) 785-8075
    ahandtke@uwlax.edu
    Education:
    Western Illinois University: Psychology & Political Science
    Western Illinois University: Junior Community Counselors
    Favorite Quote:
    "We can still face one final fear - the fear that a live encounter with others will challenge or even compel us to change our lives." -Parker Palmer
    Patrick Heise
    Patrick Heise 
    Assistant Director of Residence Life
    (608) 785-8075
    pheise@uwlax.edu
    Education:
    University of Wisconsin - La Crosse: Elementary/Middle Level Education
    Oregon State University: Student Services Administration
    Favorite Quote:
    "A ship in the harbor is safe, but that is not what ships are built for." -William Shedo
    Troy Richter
    Troy Richter
    Assistant Director of Residence Life - Operations
    (608) 785-8075
    trichter@uwlax.edu
    Education:
    University of Wisconsin-La Crosse: History & Broadfield Social Studies Education
    University of Wisconsin-Platteville: MSE Counselor Education
    Favorite Quote:
    "Fun is good" -Dr. Seuss
    Chris Dziekan
    Chris Dziekan
    Assistant Director of Residence Life - Leadership Education
    (608) 785-8075
    cdziekan@uwlax.edu
    Education:
    University of Wisconsin-Green Bay: Journalism & English Literature
    Syracuse University: Higher Education w/ Student Affairs emphasis
    Favorite Quote:
    "Imagination is more important than knowledge." -Albert Einstein
    Doug Kuenn
    Doug Kuenn
    Assistant Director of Residence Life - Facilities
    (608) 785-8075
    dkuenn@uwlax.edu
    Education:
    University of Wisconsin-La Crosse: Physical Education & Coaching
    University of Wisconsin-La Crosse: College Student Personnel
    Favorite Quote:
    "Champions aren't made in the gyms. Champions are made from something they have deep inside of them - a desire, a dream, a vision." -Muhammad Ali
    Lisa Weston
    Lisa Weston
    Student Services Coordinator
    (608) 785-8075
    lweston@uwlax.edu
    Education:
    University of Wisconsin-La Crosse: Social Studies Secondary Education
    University of Northern Iowa: Education Leadership, Student Affairs
    Favorite Quote:
    "Judge a man by his questions rather than by his answers." -Voltaire
    Carol Beckerjeck
    Carol Beckerjeck
    University Services Associate
    (608) 785-8075
    cbeckerjeck@uwlax.edu
    Favorite Quote:
    "Not everything that is faced can be changed. But nothing can be changed until it is faced." -James Baldwin
    Deb Miller
    Deb Miller
    University Services Associate
    (608) 785-8076
    dmiller@uwlax.edu
    Education:
    Nicolet Area Technical College: Secretarial
    Favorite Quote:
    "He is no fool who gives what he cannot keep in order to gain what he cannot lose." -Jim Elliot
    Jordan Harmel
    Jordan Harmel
    IS Business Automation Analyst (Project)
    (608) 789-2300
    jharmel@uwlax.edu
    Education:
    University of Wisconsin-La Crosse: BS Computer Science
    Western Technical College: Computer Engineering Technology
    Scott Thaibault
    Scott Thibault
    Graduate Assistant
    Residence Hall Association Council (RHAC) Co-Advisor
    (608) 785-8075
    thibault.scott@uwlax.edu
    Education:
    The Ohio State University: International Studies
    Favorite Quote:
    "The Two most important days in your life are the day you are born and the day you find out why." -Mark Twain
    Dylan Kersten
    Dylan Kersten
    Graduate Assistant
    Residence Hall Association Council (RHAC)
    (608) 785-8075
    kersten.dylan@uwlax.edu
    Education:
    University of Wisconsin - Whitewater : Biology with an emphasis in Field Biology/Ecology
    Favorite Quote:
    "Be the change you wish to see in the world" - Mahatma Ghandi
    Lee Yang
    Lee Yang
    Graduate Assistant
    Inclusive Excellence (IE) Scholars Program Coordinator
    (608) 785-8075
    yang.lee@uwlax.edu
    Education:
    *coming soon
    Favorite Quote:
    *coming soon
    John Laffey
    John Laffey
    Housekeeping Supervisor
    (608) 785-8077
    jlaffey@uwlax.edu
    Randy Otto
    Randy Otto
    Facilities and Maintenance
    (608) 785-8075
    rotto@uwlax.edu
    Mike Heal
    Mike Heal
    Facilities and Maintenance
    (608) 785-8075
    mheal@uwlax.edu
    Cindy Davis
    Cindy Davis
    Housekeeper - Angell Hall
    (608) 785-8075
    cdavis@uwlax.edu
    Mark Harris
    Mark Harris
    Housekeeper-Angell Hall
    (608) 785-8075
    mharris@uwlax.edu
    Linda Chitwood
    Linda Chitwood
    Housekeeper- Coate Hall
    (608) 785-8075
    lchitwood@uwlax.edu
    Patti Lesky
    Patti Lesky
    Housekeeper- Coate Hall
    (608) 785-8075
    plesky@uwlax.edu
    Jon Voshart
    Jon Voshart
    Housekeeper - Drake Hall
    (608) 785-8075
    jvoshart@uwlax.edu
    Kenneth Miller
    Kenneth Miller
    Housekeeper - Drake Hall
    (608) 785-8075
    kmiller@uwlax.edu
    Jon Henry
    Jon Henry
    Custodian Lead - Eagle Hall
    (608) 785-8075
    jhenry@uwlax.edu
    Cathy Fowler
    Cathy Fowler
    Housekeeper - Eagle Hall
    (608) 785-8075
    cfowler@uwlax.edu
    Mary Miller
    Mary Miller
    Housekeeper - Eagle Hall
    (608) 785-8075
    mmiller@uwlax.edu
    Linda Pederson
    Linda Pederson
    Housekeeper - Hutchison Hall
    (608) 785-8075
    lpederson@uwlax.edu
    Angela Kvalheim
    Angela Kvalheim
    Housekeeper - Hutchison Hall
    (608) 785-8075
    akvalheim@uwlax.edu
    John Sandry
    John Sandry
    Housekeeper - Laux Hall
    (608) 785-8075
    jsandry@uwlax.edu
    Greg McCabe
    Greg McCabe
    Housekeeper - Reuter Hall
    (608) 785-8075
    gmccabe@uwlax.edu
    Jim Lawrence
    Jim Lawrence
    Housekeeper - Reuter Hall
    (608) 785-8075
    jlawrence@uwlax.edu
    David Clements
    David Clements
    Housekeeper - Sanford Hall
    (608) 785-8075
    dclements@uwlax.edu
    Keith Gilbert
    Keith Gilbert
    Housekeeper - Wentz Hall
    (608) 785-8075
    kgilbert@uwlax.edu
    Kevin Freese
    Kevin Freese
    Housekeeper - White Hall
    (608) 785-8075
    kfreese@uwlax.edu
    Matt Nuttelman
    Matt Nuttelman
    Floater
    (608) 785-8075
    mnuttelman@uwlax.edu
    Cameron Ario
    Cameron Ario
    RLIS Programmer
    (608) 789-2300
    rlis@uwlax.edu
    Major: Computer Science & Software Engineering
    Minor: Mathematics

    Hobbies: Reading, Watching, and Playing Stories
    Ian Cichy
    Ian Cichy
    RLIS Programmer
    (608) 789-2300
    rlis@uwlax.edu
    Major: Computer Science & Software Engineering
    Minor: Mathematics

    Hobbies: Video Games, Music, Tennis, Photography
    Ashleigh Williams
    Ashleigh Williams
    Angell Hall Director
    (608) 785-8081
    awilliams2@uwlax.edu
    Education:
    Jefferson Community College
    SUNY Potsdam
    Radford University, Miami University
    Favorite Quote:
    “Voici mon secret. Il est très simple: on ne voit bien qu'avec le cœur. L'essentiel est invisible pour les yeux.” -Antoine de Saint-Exupéry, Le Petit Prince
    Marissa Becker
    Marissa Becker
    Angell Assistant Hall Director
    (608) 789-2147
    becker.mari@uwlax.edu
    Education:
    Eastern Illinois University: B.A. Sociology
    University of Wisconsin - La Crosse: Masters in Student Affairs Administration (in progress)
    Favorite Quote:
    "You're alive. That means you have infinite potential. You can do anything, make anything, dream anything. If you change the world, the world will change." -Neil Gaiman
    Megan Denison
    Megan Denison
    Coate Hall Director
    (608) 785-8083
    mdenison@uwlax.edu
    Education:
    Kansas State University: B.S. in Family Studies and Human Services, minors in Leadership Studies and Spanish
    Clemson University: M.Ed. in Counselor Education (Student Affairs)
    Favorite Quote:
    "Don't ask what the world needs. Ask what makes you come alive, and go do it. Because what the world needs are people who have come alive." -Howard Thurman
    Kayla Lentz
    Kayla Lentz
    Coate Assistant Hall Director
    (608) 789-4140
    lentz.kayl@uwlax.edu
    Education:
    University of Wisconsin-La Crosse: Sociology & Criminal Justice
    University of Wisconsin-La Crosse: Student Affairs and Administration
    Favorite Quote:
    "Be kind, for everyone you meet is fighting a battle you know nothing about." -Wendy Mass
    Bailey Steckbauer
    Bailey Steckbauer
    Coate Assistant Hall Director
    (608) 789-4140
    steckbau.bail@uwlax.edu
    Education:
    Denison University: Psychology & Education
    University of Wisconsin- La Crosse: Student Affairs Administration
    Favorite Quote:
    "Education is the most powerful weapon which you can use to change the world" -Nelson Mandela
    Jude N. Legiste
    Jude N. Legiste
    Drake Hall Director
    (608) 785-8084
    jlegiste@uwlax.edu
    Education:
    University of Miami: Bachelor of Arts: Economics
    Louisiana State University: Master of Arts: Higher Education Administration
    Favorite Quote:
    "It's our choices that make us who we are."
    Colin Burns-Gilbert
    Colin Burns-Gilbert
    Eagle Gray Hall Director
    Education:
    University of Minnesota - Twin Cities: BS in Sports Management
    University of Wisconsin-La Crosse: Masters in Student Affairs Administration
    Favorite Quote:
    "Dream as if you'll live forever. Live as if you'll die today." -James Dean
    Cobalt
    Cobalt
    Laux Dog
    Cobalt is part Siberian Husky, part German Shepard, and all adorable. Her favorite hobbies include running around at the Myrick Dog Park, exploring the marsh trails, and gnawing on a delicious bone.
    Sam Pierce
    Sam Pierce
    Eagle Maroon Hall Director
    (608) 785-8089
    spierce@uwlax.edu
    Education:
    University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire: Criminal Justice
    University of Wisconsin-La Crosse: MA in Higher Education
    Favorite Quote:
    "Leaders are made, they are not born. They are made by hard effort, which is the price which all of us must pay to achieve any goal that is worthwhile." -Vince Lombardi
    Allyson K. Plattner
    Allyson K. Plattner
    Hutchison Hall Director
    (608) 785-8085
    aplattner@uwlax.edu
    Education:
    Kansas State University- M.S. Counseling and Student Personnel with an emphasis in Administration
    Fort Hays State University- B.S. Organizational Leadership
    Favorite Quote:
    “Leadership is the art of attaining the impossible” -Denis A. Cortese
    Megan Britt
    Megan Britt
    Hutchison Assistant Hall Director
    (608) 789-2548
    britt.mega@uwlax.edu
    Education:
    University of Northern Iowa, Earned a Bachelor of Arts in Psychology
    University of Wisconsin La Crosse, Seeking a Master's in Student Affairs Administration
    Favorite Quote:
    “The best way to find yourself is to lose yourself in the service of others.” -Mahatma Gandhi
    Luke Visser
    Luke Visser
    Laux Hall Director
    (608) 785-8086
    lvisser@uwlax.edu
    Education:
    University of Iowa: B.A. Psycology
    St. Cloud State University: M.S. College Consuling and Student Development
    Favorite Quote:
    "It is the experiences, the memories, the great triumphant joy of living to the fullest extent in which real meaning is found." - Jon Krakauer
    Will Harmon
    Will Harmon
    Reuter Hall Director
    (608) 785-8087
    wharmon@uwlax.edu
    Education:
    University of Nebraska-Lincoln: BS in Biological Sciences
    University of Nebraska-Lincoln: Master of the Arts in Education Admin., emphasis in Student Affairs
    Favorite Quote:
    "People who work together will win, whether it be against complex football defenses, or the problems of modern society." -Vince Lombardi
    Appa
    Appa
    Reuter Dog
    Appa is a fun loving pup who was adopted in the fall of 2012. Her passions include: running, licking, spazzing out, eating peanut butter, being a large lap-dog, and destroying her toys. She is 40 pounds of love and companionship who is ALWAYS happy to see people!
    Nicole Bushway
    Nicole Bushway
    Reuter Assistant Hall Director
    (608) 789-2658
    bushway.roby@uwlax.edu
    Education:
    Northern Michigan University: B.S in Physical Geography
    Favorite Quote:
    "I'm convinced of this: Good done anywhere is good done everywhere. For a change, start by speaking to people rather than walking by them like they're stones that don't matter. As long as you're breathing, it's never too late to do some good." -Maya Angelou
    Theresa Luensmann
    Theresa Luensmann
    Sanford Hall Director
    (608) 785-8088
    tluensmann@uwlax.edu
    Education:
    University of Northern Iowa: B.A. in Biochemistry and Biology
    Kansas State University: M.S. in Counseling and Student Development
    Favorite Quote:
    "Courage does not always roar. Sometimes courage is the quiet voice at the end of the day saying, 'I will try again tomorrow.' " - Mary Anne Radmacher
    Jackie Lee
    Jackie Lee
    Wentz Hall Director
    (608) 785-8556
    jlee@uwlax.edu
    Education:
    University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire: B.S. Biology
    University of Connecticut: M.A. Higher Education and Student Affairs
    Favorite Quote:
    Who we are cannot be separated from where we're from." -Malcolm Gladwell
    Amanda Abrahamson
    Amanda Abrahamson
    White Hall Director
    (608) 785-8557
    aabrahamson@uwlax.edu
    Education:
    University of Wisconsin-La Crosse: BS in Psychology, Minor in Criminal Justice
    University of Mississippi: MA in Higher Education/Student Personnel
    Favorite Quote:
    "I've learned that people will forget what you said, people will forget what you did, but people will never forget how you made them feel." - Maya Angelou
    Angell Hall

    Angell Hall


    Coate Hall

    Coate Hall


    Drake Hall

    Drake Hall


    Eagle Gray

    Eagle Gray


    Eagle Maroon

    Eagle Maroon


    Hutch Hall

    Hutch Hall


    Laux Hall

    Laux Hall


    Reuter Hall

    Reuter Hall


    Sanford Hall

    Sanford Hall


    Wentz Hall

    Wentz Hall


    White Hall

    White Hall