University of Wisconsin-La Crosse | uwlax.edu

Residence Life

Expand page menu
Skip to page menu

  • Meet the ORL Family

    Hang around the Office of Residence Life very long and you will hear about the “ORL Family”. We are proud of our program, and we get to work with dedicated, deliberate, and amazing professionals. We also work with some of the best students you will find at any college around the country; students who are truly invested in their education and extracurricular commitments. The ORL Family values small communities that make it easy to connect with others and make our campus feel like home.

    Dr. Nick Nicklaus
    Dr. Nick Nicklaus
    Director of Residence Life
    608.785.8075
    nnicklaus@uwlax.edu
    Education:
    Bowling Green State University: History & Sociology
    Bowling Green State University: College Student Personnel
    Ball State University: Adult & Community Education
    Favorite Quote:
    "We often do not see things as they are but rather as we want them to be."
    April Handtke
    April Handtke
    Assistant Director - Occupancy, Technology, and Assessment
    608.785.8075
    ahandtke@uwlax.edu
    Education:
    Western Illinois University: Psychology & Political Science
    Western Illinois University: Junior Community Counselors
    Favorite Quote:
    "We can still face one final fear - the fear that a live encounter with others will challenge or even compel us to change our lives." -Parker Palmer
    Patrick Heise
    Patrick Heise
    Assistant Director of Staffing, Training, and Development
    608.785.8075
    pheise@uwlax.edu
    Education:
    University of Wisconsin-La Crosse: Elementary/Middle Level Education
    Oregon State University: Student Services Administration
    Favorite Quote:
    "A ship in the harbor is safe, but that is not what ships are built for." -William Shedo
    Troy Richter
    Troy Richter
    Assistant Director of Residence Life - Operations
    608.785.8075
    trichter@uwlax.edu
    Education:
    University of Wisconsin-La Crosse: History & Broadfield Social Studies Education
    University of Wisconsin-Platteville: MSE Counselor Education
    Favorite Quote:
    "Fun is good" -Dr. Seuss
    Chris Dziekan
    Chris Dziekan
    Assistant Director of Residence Life - Leadership Education
    608.785.8075
    cdziekan@uwlax.edu
    Education:
    University of Wisconsin-Green Bay: Journalism & English Literature
    Syracuse University: Higher Education w/ Student Affairs emphasis
    Favorite Quote:
    "Imagination is more important than knowledge." -Albert Einstein
    Doug Kuenn
    Doug Kuenn
    Assistant Director - Facilities
    608.785.8075
    dkuenn@uwlax.edu
    Education:
    University of Wisconsin-La Crosse: Physical Education & Coaching
    University of Wisconsin-La Crosse: College Student Personnel
    Favorite Quote:
    "Champions aren't made in the gyms. Champions are made from something they have deep inside of them - a desire, a dream, a vision." -Muhammad Ali
    Lisa Weston
    Lisa Weston
    Assistant Director of Staffing, Training, and Development
    608.785.8075
    lweston@uwlax.edu
    Education:
    University of Wisconsin-La Crosse: Social Studies Secondary Education
    University of Northern Iowa: Education Leadership, Student Affairs
    Favorite Quote:
    "Judge a man by his questions rather than by his answers." -Voltaire
    Carol Beckerjeck
    Carol Beckerjeck
    University Services Associate
    608.785.8075
    cbeckerjeck@uwlax.edu
    Favorite Quote:
    "Not everything that is faced can be changed. But nothing can be changed until it is faced." -James Baldwin
    Dylan Kersten
    Dylan Kersten
    Graduate Assistant
    Residence Hall Association Council (RHAC)
    Education:
    University of Wisconsin - Whitewater : Biology with an emphasis in Field Biology/Ecology
    Favorite Quote:
    "Be the change you wish to see in the world" - Mahatma Ghandi
    Lee Yang
    Lee Yang
    Graduate Assistant
    Inclusive Excellence (IE) Scholars Program Coordinator
    608.785.8075
    yang.lee@uwlax.edu
    Education:
    University of Wisconsin-La Crosse: Community Health Education
    Favorite Quote:
    “The great thing in this world is not so much where you stand, as in what direction you are moving.” – Oliver Wendell Holmes
    John Laffey
    John Laffey
    Housekeeping Supervisor
    608.785.8077
    jlaffey@uwlax.edu
    Randy Otto
    Randy Otto
    Facilities and Maintenance
    608.785.8075
    rotto@uwlax.edu
    Mike Heal
    Mike Heal
    Facilities and Maintenance
    608.785.8075
    mheal@uwlax.edu
    Cindy Davis
    Cindy Davis
    Housekeeper - Angell Hall
    608.785.8075
    cdavis@uwlax.edu
    Mark Harris
    Mark Harris
    Housekeeper-Angell Hall
    608.785.8075
    mharris@uwlax.edu
    Linda Chitwood
    Linda Chitwood
    Housekeeper- Coate Hall
    608.785.8075
    lchitwood@uwlax.edu
    EMPTY
    Robert Maier
    Housekeeper- Coate Hall
    608.785.8075
    rmaier@uwlax.edu
    Jon Voshart
    Jon Voshart
    Housekeeper - Drake Hall
    608.785.8075
    jvoshart@uwlax.edu
    Kenneth Miller
    Kenneth Miller
    Housekeeper - Drake Hall
    608.785.8075
    kmiller@uwlax.edu
    Jon Henry
    Jon Henry
    Custodian Lead - Eagle Hall
    608.785.8075
    jhenry@uwlax.edu
    Cathy Fowler
    Cathy Fowler
    Housekeeper - Eagle Hall
    608.785.8075
    cfowler@uwlax.edu
    Mary Miller
    Mary Miller
    Housekeeper - Eagle Hall
    608.785.8075
    mmiller@uwlax.edu
    Linda Pederson
    Linda Pederson
    Housekeeper - Hutchison Hall
    608.785.8075
    lpederson@uwlax.edu
    Angela Kvalheim
    Angela Kvalheim
    Housekeeper - Hutchison Hall
    608.785.8075
    akvalheim@uwlax.edu
    David Clements
    David Clements
    Housekeeper - Laux Hall
    608.785.8075
    dclements@uwlax.edu
    Greg McCabe
    Greg McCabe
    Housekeeper - Reuter Hall
    608.785.8075
    gmccabe@uwlax.edu
    Mike Schams
    Mike Schams
    Housekeeper - Reuter Hall
    608.785.8075
    mschams@uwlax.edu
    David Clements
    Jim Lawrence
    Housekeeper - Sanford Hall
    608.785.8075
    jlawrence@uwlax.edu
    Keith Gilbert
    Keith Gilbert
    Housekeeper - Wentz Hall
    608.785.8075
    kgilbert@uwlax.edu
    Kevin Freese
    Kevin Freese
    Housekeeper - White Hall
    608.785.8075
    kfreese@uwlax.edu
    Matt Nuttelman
    Matt Nuttelman
    Floater
    608.785.8075
    mnuttelman@uwlax.edu
    Cameron Ario
    Cameron Ario
    RLIS Programmer
    (608) 789-2300
    rlis@uwlax.edu
    Major: Computer Science & Software Engineering
    Minor: Mathematics

    Hobbies: Reading, Watching, and Playing Stories
    Ian Cichy
    Ian Cichy
    RLIS Programmer
    (608) 789-2300
    rlis@uwlax.edu
    Major: Computer Science & Software Engineering
    Minor: Mathematics

    Hobbies: Video Games, Music, Tennis, Photography
    Hanah Diebold
    Hanah Diebold
    Angell Hall Director
    608.785.8081
    Will be starting August 1st
    Education:
    University of Wisconsin-Platteville: BS in Business Administration, Sales & Marketing / Minor in Spanish
    Oklahoma State University: MS in Educational Leadership Studies, College Student Development
    Favorite Quote:
    "That you are here - that life exists and identity. That the powerful play goes on, and you may contribute a verse." - Walt Whitman
    Angell Cat Belle
    Belle
    Angell Hall Pet
    Belle is a 6 year old Yorkshire Terrier with a long tail and one floppy ear. Belle has grown up in residence halls and loves to meet university students. Belle's favorite things include food, belly rubs, and talking long walks in the sunshine.
    Emily Tittle
    Emily Tittle
    Angell Assistant Hall Director
    (608) 789-2147
    Education:
    University of Wisconsin - Eau Claire: BA in English: Rhetorics of Science, Technology, and Culture
    Favorite Quote:
    "Not all those who wander are lost" -J.R.R. Tolkien
    Shane Springer
    Shane Springer
    Coate Hall Director
    608.785.8083
    sspringer@uwlax.edu
    Education:
    Viterbo University: BS in Mathematics
    University of Wisconsin-La Crosse: MS in Education (Student Affairs Administration)
    Favorite Quote:
    "Somewhere, something incredible is waiting to be known." -Carl Sagan
    Coate Cat Bowie
    Bowie
    Coate Hall Pet
    Bowie is the Coate Hall pet! I adopted her in February 2016 from the Coulee Region Humane Society. Bowie has plenty of energy, can often be seen in her window perch, and loves to play fetch with her toys.
    Leah R. Burger
    Leah R. Burger
    Coate Assistant Hall Director
    (608) 789-4140
    Education:
    University of Evansville: B.S. in Organizational Communication
    Favorite Quote:
    "We shall not cease from exploration, and the end of all our exploring will be to arrive where we started and know the place for the first time." -T.S. Eliot
    Megan Britt
    Megan Britt
    Drake Hall Director
    608.785.8084
    mbritt@uwlax.edu
    Education:
    University of Northern Iowa: B.A Psychology
    University of Wisconsin-La Crosse: M.S. Student Affairs Administration
    Favorite Quote:
    “When the whole world is silent, even one voice becomes powerful" -Malala Yousafzai​
    Colin Burns-Gilbert
    Colin Burns-Gilbert
    Eagle Gray Hall Director
    Education:
    University of Minnesota - Twin Cities: BS in Sports Management
    University of Wisconsin-La Crosse: Masters in Student Affairs Administration
    Favorite Quote:
    "Dream as if you'll live forever. Live as if you'll die today." -James Dean
    Cobalt
    Cobalt
    Eagle Dog
    Cobalt is part Siberian Husky, part German Shepard, and all adorable. Her favorite hobbies include running around at the Myrick Dog Park, exploring the marsh trails, and gnawing on a delicious bone.
    Sam Pierce
    Sam Pierce
    Eagle Maroon Hall Director
    608.785.8089
    spierce@uwlax.edu
    Education:
    University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire: Criminal Justice
    University of Wisconsin-La Crosse: SAA in Higher Education
    Favorite Quote:
    "Leaders are made, they are not born. They are made by hard effort, which is the price which all of us must pay to achieve any goal that is worthwhile." -Vince Lombardi
    Allyson K. Plattner
    Allyson K. Plattner
    Hutchison Hall Director
    608.785.8085
    aplattner@uwlax.edu
    Education:
    Kansas State University- M.S. Counseling and Student Personnel with an emphasis in Administration
    Fort Hays State University- B.S. Organizational Leadership
    Favorite Quote:
    “Leadership is the art of attaining the impossible” -Denis A. Cortese
    Hutch AHD
    Hutch AHD
    Hutchison Assistant Hall Director
    (608) 789-2548
    Education:
    Favorite Quote:
    Luke Visser
    Luke Visser
    Laux Hall Director
    608.785.8086
    lvisser@uwlax.edu
    Education:
    University of Iowa: B.A. Psycology
    St. Cloud State University: M.S. College Consulting and Student Development
    Favorite Quote:
    "It is the experiences, the memories, the great triumphant joy of living to the fullest extent in which real meaning is found." - Jon Krakauer
    Apple
    Apple
    Laux Hall Pet
    Apple is the Laux Hall pet! Apple is a 9-year-old border collie and husky mix that I adopted in October of 2015. Apple has plenty of energy and loves meeting new people. She is very calm and easygoing, but loves to run around and go for long walks on the bluff and marsh trails. Apple loves squeaky toys, tennis balls, and food.
    Reuter HD
    Reuter HD
    Reuter Hall Director
    (608) 789-2658
    Education:
    Favorite Quote:
    Theresa Luensmann
    Theresa Luensmann
    Sanford Hall Director
    608.785.8088
    tluensmann@uwlax.edu
    Education:
    University of Northern Iowa: B.A. in Biochemistry and Biology
    Kansas State University: M.S. in Counseling and Student Development
    Favorite Quote:
    "Courage does not always roar. Sometimes courage is the quiet voice at the end of the day saying, 'I will try again tomorrow.' " - Mary Anne Radmacher
    Jackie Lee
    Jackie Lee
    Wentz Hall Director
    608.785.8556
    jlee@uwlax.edu
    Education:
    University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire: B.S. Biology
    University of Connecticut: M.A. Higher Education and Student Affairs
    Favorite Quote:
    Who we are cannot be separated from where we're from." -Malcolm Gladwell
    Amanda Abrahamson
    Amanda Abrahamson
    White Hall Director
    608.785.8557
    aabrahamson@uwlax.edu
    Education:
    University of Wisconsin-La Crosse: BS in Psychology, Minor in Criminal Justice
    University of Mississippi: MA in Higher Education/Student Personnel
    Favorite Quote:
    "I've learned that people will forget what you said, people will forget what you did, but people will never forget how you made them feel." - Maya Angelou
    Jack
    Jack
    White Hall Pet
    Jack is a 6 year old Australian Shepard mix who loves to play with his rope toy, and enjoys attention and cuddles from anyone that will pay attention. He has a goofy smile because his snout is crooked, and that just adds to the charm of this sweet and gentle boy!