University of Wisconsin-La Crosse |

School of Education, Professional & Continuing Education

Expand page menu
Skip to page menu
  • Teacher education

    Majors and minors in the Department of Educational Studies

    The Department of Educational Studies (DES) is housed in the School of Education. The following undergraduate majors, minors, and programs are available through DES. Specific content areas are housed in the related departments in the other colleges/school.

    B.S. = Bachelor of Science          m = minor              

    • Early Childhood-Middle Childhood Education (B.S., EC-MC)
    • Middle Childhood-Early Adolescence Education (B.S., MC-EA)
    • Early Childhood-Adolescence (B.S. in art, music, French, German Studies, or Spanish; EC-A)
    • Special Education (m, add-on teacher certification)
    • General Science (m, MC-EA)
    • Social Science (m, MC-EA)
    Additional teacher certification programs in the School of Education 

    The following programs are certifiable at the Early Adolescence-Adolescence (ages 10 to 21) developmental range (EA-A):

    College of Liberal Studies

    • Economics Education
    • English Education
    • French Education
    • German Studies Education
    • History Education
    • Political Science Education
    • Psychology Education
    • Social Studies - Broad Field
    • Sociology Education
    • Spanish Education

    College of Science and Health

    • Adapted Physical Education
    • Biology Education
    • Chemistry Education
    • Computer Science Education
    • Exercise and Sport Science: Physical Education Emphasis
    • General Science Education - Broad Field (second major only)
    • Geography Education
    • Mathematics Education
    • Physics Education
    • School Health Education