The University of Wisconsin-La Crosse, founded in 1909, is one of 13 four-year campuses in the University of Wisconsin System.

It offers approximately 88 majors, minors and special programs for undergraduates in business, education, the sciences, the arts, health, recreation, physical education and liberal studies. Twenty-five graduate programs are available. More than 10,000 students attend classes on the compact, 128-acre campus.

 UW-L boasts a student to faculty ratio of 20:1 and an average class size of 28 students. Located on the banks of the scenic Mississippi River in western Wisconsin, the La Crosse metropolitan area with its 110,000 residents serves as a regional center for shopping, business and industry.