University of Wisconsin-La Crosse | uwlax.edu
Skip to page menu

Our people

Department Chair

Michael Abler Profile
Associate Professor
3020 Cowley Hall
mabler@uwlax.edu
608.785.6962

Academic Department Associate

Amy Servais Profile
Academic Department Associate
3005 Cowley Hall
aservais@uwlax.edu
608.785.8238

Department people

Anita Baines Profile
Associate Professor
4032 Cowley Hall
abaines@uwlax.edu
608.785.8239
Lee Baines Profile
Lecturer
134 Wittich Hall
lbaines@uwlax.edu
608.785.8244
Michael Abler Profile
Associate Professor
3020 Cowley Hall
mabler@uwlax.edu
608.785.6962
A Glenn Brice Profile
Professor
3031 Cowley Hall
abrice@uwlax.edu
608.785.6973
Sierra Colavito Profile
Assistant Professor
4031 Cowley Hall
scolavito@uwlax.edu
608.785.6998
Specialty areas:

Breast Cancer Cell Biology


Office hours:

Listed on Course Syllabi, otherwise e-mail to set up an appointment

Scott Cooper Profile
Professor
3022 Cowley Hall
scooper@uwlax.edu
608.785.6983
Specialty areas:

Effects of hibernation on blood clotting in 13-lined ground squirrels.


Office hours:

E-mail me to set up a meeting.

Faye Ellis Profile
Senior Lecturer
343 Cowley Hall
fellis@uwlax.edu
608.785.5066
Specialty areas:

Cellular and Molecular Biology


Office hours:

Monday 2:15pm - 3:00pm

Tuesday 8:30am - 9:45am

Wednesday 12:00pm - 1:00pm

Anne Galbraith Profile
Associate Professor
3025 Cowley Hall
agalbraith@uwlax.edu
608.785.8246
Specialty areas:

Genetics, genetic disorders, genetics, moleular biology, genetics, baker's yeast, genetics


Office hours:

Listed on course syllabi

Daniel Gerber Profile
Professor
2028 Cowley Hall
dgerber@uwlax.edu
608.785.6977
Gretchen Gerrish Profile
Associate Professor
2034 Cowley Hall
ggerrish@uwlax.edu
608.785.8242
Rick Gillis Profile
Professor
3014 Cowley Hall
rgillis@uwlax.edu
608.785.8253
Specialty areas: I am a broadly trained zoologist with an interest in the ecology of whole organisms, particularly amphibians and reptiles. A good deal of my time is also committed to the continuing development and maintenance of the Animal Biology and Human Anatomy & Physiology Laboratory web sites as well as the Department of Biology web site.
Office hours: To see my Office Hours for the current semester or to find out more about me or how to reach me, please click on My Homepage.
Kristin Greany Profile
Lecturer
0019 Health Science Center
kgreany@uwlax.edu
608.785.6544
Roger Haro Profile
Associate Dean
105E Cowley Hall
rharo@uwlax.edu
608.785.6970
Specialty areas:

Aquatic entomology, river ecology, mercury transport in freshwater foodwebs and the landscape ecology of watersheds, higher education analytics.


Office hours:

Fall semester 2016: By appointment

Tisha King-Heiden Profile
Associate Professor
3028 Cowley Hall
tking-heiden@uwlax.edu
608.785.6463
Specialty areas: Reproductive physiology & toxicology; developmental toxicology
Office hours: See course syllabus or email for an appointment
Barrett Klein Profile
Associate Professor
3021 Cowley Hall
bklein@uwlax.edu
608.785.6995
Specialty areas:

Animal Behavior, Entomology, Social Insect Biology, Sleep Biology, Scientific Visualization, Intersection of Entomology and Art, Cultural Entomology


Office hours:

Fall 2016: Mon 2-3pm, Tues 2:15-3:15pm, or by appointment

Jennifer Klein Profile
Associate Professor
3015 Cowley Hall
jklein@uwlax.edu
608.785.8251
Lisa Kobs Profile
Lecturer
0021 Health Science Center
lkobs@uwlax.edu
608.785.6457
Megan Litster Profile
Assistant Professor
3009 Cowley Hall
mlitster@uwlax.edu
608.785.8252
Specialty areas:

Biology Education


Office hours:

Monday & Wednesday 10:30 to 11:30; Contact for additional appointment times.

Sumei Liu Profile
Associate Professor
0040 Health Science Center
sliu@uwlax.edu
608.785.6971
Specialty areas: Gastrointestinal Physiology; Enteric Nervous System
Office hours: Posted on course syllabus. Email me to set up an appointment.
Margaret Maher Profile
Professor
0024 Health Science Center
mmaher@uwlax.edu
608.785.6967
Specialty areas: Nutrition and Endocrinology
Office hours: Varies by semester - they are posted on my office door.
Markus Mika Profile
Associate Lecturer
2 Wing Technology Center
mmika@uwlax.edu
608.785.5270
Teresa Mika Profile
Intro Biology Coordinator
341 Cowley Hall
tmika@uwlax.edu
608.785.8249
Jennifer Miskowski Profile
Professor
3018 Cowley Hall
jmiskowski@uwlax.edu
608.785.6456
Todd Osmundson Profile
Assistant Professor
3034 Cowley Hall
tosmundson@uwlax.edu
608.785.6975
Specialty areas: Biodiversity & conservation, Biogeography, Bioinformatics, DNA barcoding, Metagenomics, Molecular phylogenetics, Mycology, Population Genetics, Systematics
Office hours: See course syllabus, or by appointment
Elisabeth Paluch Profile
Laboratory Manager I
343 Cowley Hall
epaluch@uwlax.edu
608.785.5071
Renee Redman Profile
Senior Lecturer
135 Wittich Hall
rredman@uwlax.edu
608.785.6963
Anton Sanderfoot Profile
Associate Professor
4033 Cowley Hall
asanderfoot@uwlax.edu
608.785.8240
Specialty areas: Plant cell biology, protein secretion, genetic screens, molecular biology, microscopy
Office hours: Mon.-Wed.-Fri 10-11 am, Tue.-Thurs. 1-2 pm, Other times by appointment
Gregory Sandland Profile
Professor
2032 Cowley Hall
gsandland@uwlax.edu
608.785.6982
Specialty areas:

Host-parasite interactions, life-history evolution, disease ecology, invasive species dynamics, mathematical biology


Office hours:

Listed in syllabi

James Schanandore Profile
Associate Lecturer
136 Wittich Hall
jschanandore@uwlax.edu
608.785.6459
Specialty areas: Mummy Studies, Virtopsy, Computed Tomography Imaging, Human Anatomy/Physiology
Christine Schwartz Profile
Assistant Professor
0023 Health Science Center
cschwartz@uwlax.edu
608.785.6974
Specialty areas:

Neuroscience, Physiology, Hibernation biology


Office hours:

See course syllabi or email me to make an appointment

Ryan Stapley Profile
Associate Lecturer
3012 Cowley Hall
rstapley@uwlax.edu
608.785.6454
Specialty areas:

Pathology


Office hours:

Fall 2016

Tuesday 2:15 @Murphy Learning Center

Thursday 12:00 @Murphy Learning Center

Bradley Seebach Profile
Associate Professor
0042 Health Science Center
bseebach@uwlax.edu
608.785.6966
Specialty areas: Neurophysiology, Human Anatomy & Physiology
Office hours: Summer 2015 Office hours are Tuesday and Thursday mornings, 9:30-11:30
Eric Snively Profile
Assistant Professor
3032 Cowley Hall
esnively@uwlax.edu
608.785.6978
Specialty areas:

Vertebrate functional anatomy and paleontology


Office hours:

9-10:30 am Tuesday, 2-3 pm Friday.      251 Murphy

Also drop-in and by appointment.           3032 Cowley

Eric Strauss Profile
Professor
2033 Cowley Hall
estrauss@uwlax.edu
608.785.8262
Specialty areas: Limnology, Ecosystem Ecology, Water Quality
Office hours: Eric Strauss Webpage
Meredith Thomsen Profile
Professor
3026 Cowley Hall
mthomsen@uwlax.edu
608.785.8245
Specialty areas: Plant ecology, invasive species, ecological restoration, habitat fragmentation
Office hours: Vary by semester, posted on my office door
Thomas Volk Profile
Professor
3024 Cowley Hall
tvolk@uwlax.edu
608.785.6972
Specialty areas:

Mycology, Plant Pathology, especially Forest Pathology

Rebecca Werren Profile
Associate Lecturer
140 Wittich Hall
rwerren@uwlax.edu
608.785.8250
Franklin Greene Profile
Laboratory Manager I
357 Cowley Hall
fgreene@uwlax.edu
608.785.6912
Kurt Grunwald Profile
Laboratory Manager I
350 Cowley Hall
kgrunwald@uwlax.edu
608.785.6458
Specialty areas: Equipment Manager and Radiation Safety Officer

Emeritus Faculty & Academic Staff

NAME
EMAIL ADDRESS
YEARSPRINCIPAL AREAS OF INSTRUCTIONSTATUS
LaVerne Buldhaupt 1961-1996 Parasitology, Vertebrate Zoology Deceased
Robert Burns 1968-1998 Microbiology Retired
Thomas O. Claflin 1966-2001 Limnology, River Studies Retired
Jerry Davis
sivadjam@mhtc.net
1968-2002 Plant Biology, General Biology Retired
Richard A. Fletcher 1968-1994 Endocrinology, Human Anatomy & Physiology Retired
Richard T. Hartley 1950-1971 Embryology Deceased
John W. Held 1967-1997 Fisheries Biology, Vertebrate Zoology Retired
David Howard      1999-2015 Cell Biology Deceased
Rudy G. Koch 1980-1990 General Biology; Plant Taxonomy Deceased
Stuart McIlraith 1962-1995 Invertebrate Zoology, Human Biology Deceased
Rodney C. Mowbray 1972-2006 Developmental Biology, Radiation Biology Retired
Allen C. Nelson
list-olsleln@aol.com
1964-1996 Mycology Retired
Deon Nontelle
dnontelle@hargray.com
1973-2005 General Biology Retired
Richard P. Nord 1966-1999 General Biology Retired
James E. Parry
jeppwp@aol.com
1967-1998 Genetics, Vertebrate Zoology Retired
Ronald G. Rada
rrada@uwlax.edu
1975-1998 Limnology, River Studies Administration
Jean C. Ruhser
prairiegenes@gmail.com
1975-2001 General Biology, Ornithology Retired
Laura A. Schuh 1957-1983 Entomology Deceased
Grace M. Smith 1971-1996 Medical Technology Retired
Daniel Sutherland 1994-2006 Parasitology, Organismal Biology Deceased
Eileen G. Temte 1967-1994 General Biology Retired
Rob Tyser  1978 - 2015 Ecology and Ornithology Retired
Larraine M. Unbehaun
junbehaun@fflax.net
1969-1999 Cell Biology Retired
James H. Warner 1963-1996 Plant Ecology Deceased
A. Vincent Weber 1956-1989 Plant Morphology Retired
Thomas F. Weeks 1970-2001 Cell Biology, Radiation Biology Retired
Howard F. Young 1955-1984 Ornithology Deceased