University of Wisconsin-La Crosse | uwlax.edu

Chemistry and Biochemistry

Expand page menu
Skip to page menu

Our people

Department Chair

Aaron Monte Profile
Professor
4001 Cowley Hall
amonte@uwlax.edu
608.785.8260
Specialty areas: Medicinal Chemistry, Psychopharmacology, Natural Products Chemistry
Office hours: Scheduled by appointment

Academic Department Associate

Lori Hanson Profile
Academic Department Associate
4004 Cowley Hall
lhanson@uwlax.edu
608.785.8268

Department people

Keith Beyer Profile Office hours
Professor
443 Cowley Hall
kbeyer@uwlax.edu
608.785.8292
Specialty areas:

Physical and Atmospheric Chemistry

Basudeb Bhattacharyya Profile
Associate Lecturer
4030 Cowley Hall
bbhattacharyya@uwlax.edu
608.785.5275
Specialty areas: Biochemistry
Jeff Bryan Profile
Professor
441 Cowley Hall
jbryan@uwlax.edu
608.785.8271
Specialty areas: Nuclear and Inorganic Chemistry
Nadia Carmosini Profile
Assistant Professor
4026 Cowley Hall
ncarmosini@uwlax.edu
608.785.5276
Office hours: Monday: 8:50 am to 11:00 am, Thursday: 8:00 am to 9:45 am
Tanya Cordes Profile
Lecturer
4012 Cowley Hall
tcordes@uwlax.edu
608.785.8279
Curtis Czerwinski Profile
Professor
4014 Cowley Hall
cczerwinski@uwlax.edu
608.785.8701
Ressano Desouza-Machado Profile
Senior Lecturer
4005 Cowley Hall
rdesouza-machado@uwlax.edu
608.785.8273
Katherine Friesen Profile
Lecturer
137 Wittich Hall
kfriesen@uwlax.edu
608.785.5277
Specialty areas:

CHM104 Gemeral Chemistry II Lecture and Lab

CHM301 Analytical Chemistry (Quantitative Chemistry) Lab


Office hours:

Monday and Friday 8:50 to 10:50 in room 137 Wittich Hall

Tuesday  8:50 to 9:55 at the MLC

              12:05 to 2:15 in room 137 Wittich Hall

Wednesday 11:00 to 12.05 in room 137 Wittich Hall

OR by appointment

Roghaieh Ghodsian Profile
Senior Lecturer
4011 Cowley Hall
rghodsian@uwlax.edu
608.785.8280
Kelly Gorres Profile
Assistant Professor
4018 Cowley Hall
kgorres@uwlax.edu
608.785.5284
Specialty areas:

Biochemistry, Virology, Reactivation of Epstein-Barr virus


Office hours:

Tuesday 12 - 1 pm, Wednesday 9 - 10 am

Daniel Grilley Profile
Assistant Professor
4028 Cowley Hall
dgrilley@uwlax.edu
608.785.5278
Specialty areas: Biochemistry, Biophysics, Molecular biology
Sandra Grunwald Profile
Associate Vice Chancellor
4015 Cowley Hall
sgrunwald@uwlax.edu
608.785.8265
Benjamin Haenni Profile
Lecturer
116 Cowley Hall
bhaenni@uwlax.edu
608.785.5285
Specialty areas: Organic Chemistry, Computational Chemistry, Physical Organic Chemistry
Office hours: MW 9:55-11:55 AM
Laura Herder Profile
Associate Lecturer
116 Cowley Hall
lherder@uwlax.edu
608.785.5283
Specialty areas: General Chemistry
Justin Jens Profile
Laboratory Manager I
421 Cowley Hall
jjens@uwlax.edu
608.785.8277
Janet Kirsch Profile
Associate Professor
4025 Cowley Hall
jkirsch@uwlax.edu
608.785.8655
Specialty areas:

Physical, Computational, Inorganic, and General Chemistry


Office hours:

Fall 2016: Tu 11:00-11:55 AM (Cowley 4025), W 2:15-4:15 PM (Murphy 251), and by appointment

Sandra Koster Profile
Senior Lecturer
4003 Cowley Hall
skoster@uwlax.edu
608.785.8282
Adrienne Loh Profile
Professor
4016 Cowley Hall
aloh@uwlax.edu
608.785.8275
Specialty areas: Physical & Biophysical Chemistry, NMR Spectroscopy, Peptide & Protein Structure; Interim Chair Department of Educational Studies
Office hours: 4016 Cowley (Chem) W 8:40, F 11:00; 335 Morris (DES) T 1:00-5:00
John May Profile
Assistant Professor
4007 Cowley Hall
jmay@uwlax.edu
608.785.5281
Specialty areas:

Biochemistry, Molecular Biology, Bacteriology (Salmonella), Glycobiology


Office hours:

Monday 11:00 AM - 12:30 PM and Thursday 2:30 - 4:00 PM

Robert McGaff Profile
Professor
4021 Cowley Hall
rmcgaff@uwlax.edu
608.785.8656
Nicholas McGrath Profile
Assistant Professor
4009 Cowley Hall
nmcgrath@uwlax.edu
608.785.8287
Specialty areas: Synthetic Organic Chemistry, Chemical Biology
Kendric Nelson Profile
Assistant Professor
4023 Cowley Hall
knelson@uwlax.edu
608.785.8263
Joshua Neukom Profile
Associate Lecturer
4029 Cowley Hall
jneukom@uwlax.edu
608.785.8278
Specialty areas:

Organic Chemistry, Organometallic Chemistry


Office hours:

Fall 2016

MTW: 12:00 - 1:00 PM and by appointment (Cowley 4029)

Aric Opdahl Profile
Professor
4024 Cowley Hall
aopdahl@uwlax.edu
608.785.8274
Specialty areas: Surface and Analytical Chemistry
Bruce Osterby Profile
Professor
442 Cowley Hall
bosterby@uwlax.edu
608.785.8266
Kristofer Rolfhus Profile
Professor
4022 Cowley Hall
krolfhus@uwlax.edu
608.785.8289
Specialty areas:

Environmental and analytical chemistry


Office hours:

MWF  1:10-2:05 pm

Heather Schenck Profile
Professor
4027 Cowley Hall
hschenck@uwlax.edu
608.785.8288
Specialty areas:

Nuclear magnetic resonance spectroscopy; organic chemistry; organic chemistry pedagogy


Office hours:

Fall 2016:  10:30 a.m. to noon, Tuesday and Friday

Yevgeniya Turov Profile
Associate Lecturer
4005 Cowley Hall
yturov@uwlax.edu
608.785.5282
Specialty areas:

General Chemistry, Inorganic Chemistry


Office hours:

Fall 2016: W 9:55-11:55 in the Murphy Learning Center or by appointment

Todd Weaver Profile
Professor
4020 Cowley Hall
tweaver@uwlax.edu
608.785.8269