University of Wisconsin-La Crosse | uwlax.edu

College of Liberal Studies
Expand menu

  • Strategic Initiatives

    CLS Organizational Chart
    CLS 2013-2014 Annual Report to the College

    College Committees

    Academic Oversight Committee
    • Contact: Julia Johnson, Ph.D.
    • The Academic Oversight Committee is the standing committee in the college that reviews, evaluates and formally approves new programs housed within CLS (majors, minors, emphases, certificate programs, etc.) and CLS core and degree program requirements. The committee's larger roles are to maintain and safeguard the integrity of the CLS-related programs as is appropriate for the diverse needs of the college and to encourage pedagogical, interdisciplinary and programmatic innovations in the college. Materials to be reviewed by the committee should be submitted to the chair in the format used by UCC.
                                                                             
    David Anderson SOC/ARC danderson4@uwlax.edu 785-6778 432D CWH
    Rob Wilkie ENG rwilkie@uwlax.edu  785-6920 426D CWH
    Regina Goodnow POL/PUB rgoodnow@uwlax.edu     785-6645 425G CWH
    Pat Stovey HIS pstovey@uwlax.edu 785-8353 403E CWH
    Karen Terpstra ART kterpstra@uwlax.edu 785-8842 27 CFA
    Sandy Keller CLSDO skeller@uwlax.edu 785-8123 275 Morris
    Julia Johnson     CLSDO jjohnson2@uwlax.edu 785-8113 235 Morris
    Assessment Committee
    • Contact: Charles Martin-Stanley, Ph.D.
    • The Assessment Committee advises the college on matters of assessment, including the review of program/departmental annual assessment plans and reports and biennial reports.
    •  Assessment Committee Bylaws 
    Bryan Kopp ENG bkopp@uwlax.edu 785-6936 426G CWH
    Brad Nichols ART bnichols@uwlax.edu 785-8232 18 CFA
    Tim Dale POL/PUB tdale@uwlax.edu 785-6644 425A CWH
    Charles Martin-Stanley CLSDO cmartin-stanley@uwlax.edu 785-8113 235 Morris
    Diversity Committee
    • Contact: Julia Johnson, Ph.D.
    • The Diversity Committee is a standing committee that advises the dean on matters of diversity affecting the College and facilitates the development of curriculum, teaching, research, and service on diversity issues.
    Laurie Cooper-Stoll SOC/ARC lcstoll@uwlax.edu 785-8664 432C CWH
    Ayesha Patnaik CST apatnaik@uwlax.edu 785-6718 4228 CN
    Amy Wolff CST awolff@uwlax.edu 785-8714 4224 CN
    Richard Breaux ERS rbreaux@uwlax.edu 785-8309 224B CWH
    William Stobb ENG wstobb@uwlax.edu 785-6924 426E CWH
    Gita Pai HIS gpai@uwlax.edu 785-8352 403M CWH
    Deb Hoskins WGSS dhoskins@uwlax.edu 785-8734 4302 CN
    Julia Johnson CLSDO jjohnson2@uwlax.edu 785-8113 235 Morris
    Inclusive Excellence Task Force
    • Contact: Charles Martin-Stanley, Ph.D. and Laurie Cooper-Stoll, Ph.D. Co-Chairs
    • Develop college strategic inclusive excellence imperatives
    • Determine strengths and challenges
    • Determine assessment and evaluation process
    Laurie Cooper-Stoll SOC/ARC lcstoll@uwlax.edu 785-8664 432C CWH
    Sara Docan-Morgan CST sdocan-morgan@uwlax.edu 785-6711 4229 CN
    Deb Hoskins WGSS dhoskins@uwlax.edu 785-8734 4302 CN
    Jorg Vianden SAA jvianden@uwlax.edu 785-6870 345E Morris
    Ray Block POL/PUB rblock@uwlax.edu 785-6646 423B CWH
    Stephen

    Katy
    Mann

    Zart
    ENG

    SAA Graduate Student
    smann@uwlax.edu

    zart.katy@uwlax.edu
    785-6923

    785-8133
    425M CWH

    235 Morris
    Charles Martin-Stanley CLSDO cmartin-stanley@uwlax.edu 785-8113 235 Morris
    Interdisciplinary Task Force
    • Contact: Julia Johnson, Ph.D. and Tim Dale, Ph.D. Co-Chairs
    • Promote interdisciplinary initiatives at multiple levels:
    • Interdisciplinary courses
    • Interdisciplinary programs
    • Interdisciplinary research
    • Other interdisciplinary initiatives
    Ariel Beaujot HIS abeaujot@uwlax.edu 785-6798 403A CWH
    Kate Hawkes ART khawkes@uwlax.edu 785-8375 228 Wings
    Tim  Dale POL/PUB tdale@uwlax.edu 785-6644 425A CWH
    Marie Moeller ENG mmoeller@uwlax.edu 785-6928 425O CWH
    Julia Johnson CLSDO jjohnson2@uwlax.edu 785-8113 235 Morris

     

    Recruitment and Retention Committee
    • Contact: Charles Martin-Stanley, Ph.D.
    • The Recruitment and Retention Committee serves as an advisory committee to the dean on matters related to the recruitment and retention of faculty, staff, and students. In an advisory capacity, the committee assists in the development and implementation of plans, strategies, programs, and activities that support, facilitate, and enhance the recruitment and retention of diverse faculty, staff, and students.
    • Recruitment and Retention Committee Bylaws
    Jennifer Butler-Modaff CST jbutlermodaff@uwlax.edu 785-6717 4219 CN
    Natalie Eschenbaum ENG neschenbaum@uwlax.edu 785-8660 431C CWH
    Julie Weiskopf HIS jweiskopf@uwlax.edu 785-6476 403I CWH
    Adam Van Liere POL/PUB avanliere@uwlax.edu 785-6956 423C CWH
    Katy Kortenkamp PSY kkortenkamp@uwlax.edu 785-8445 341L GMH
    Beth Pogreba ESL bpogreba@uwlax.edu 785-8330 1232 CN
    Tony Docan-Morgan CST tdocan@uwlax.edu 785-6722 4231 CN
    Charles Martin-Stanley CLSDO cmartin-stanley@uwlax.edu 785-8113 235 Morris
    Recognition of Excellence Committee
    • Contact: Julia Johnson, Ph.D.
    • The Recognition of Excellence Committee reviews excellence award nominations for undergraduate students, graduate students and faculty and selects the honorees.
    • The committee is comprised of the two CLS Associate Deans and three CLS Department Chairs.
    Sabbatical Committee
    • Contact: Charles Martin-Stanley, Ph.D. or Julia Johnson, Ph.D.
    • Reviews all sabbatical leave proposals from the College of Liberal Studies faculty.
    • Conducts interviews with sabbatical leave proposers.
    • Assesses the strengths and weaknesses of all CLS sabbatical proposals.
    Jennifer Terpstra ART jterpstra@uwlax.edu 785-8233 113 CFA
    Gary Konas ENG gkonas@uwlax.edu 785-6945 425P CWH
    Emily Johnson PSY ejohnson@uwlax.edu 785-6888 341C GMH
    Julia Johnson CLSDO jjohnson2@uwlax.edu 785-8113 235 Morris
    Charles Martin-Stanley CLSDO cmartin-stanley@uwlax.edu 785-8113 235 Morris
    Promoting Liberal Education Task Force
    • Contact: Ruthann Benson, Ph.D. and Kathryn Parker Ph.D. Co-Chairs
    • Promote essential learning outcomes
    • Promote high-impact educational practices
    • Promote authentic assessments
    • Pursue employer-educator partnerships
    • Engage in public advocacy
    Kathryn Parker ENG kparker@uwlax.edu 785-8304 423CWH
    Mary Krizan PHL mkrizan@uwlax.edu 785-8420 4108 CN 
    Gerald Iguchi HIS giguchi@uwlax.edu 785-8355 403P CWH
    Adam Van Liere POL/PUB avanliere@uwlax.edu 785-6956 423C CWH
    Linda Levinson ART llevinson@uwlax.edu 785-8374 227 Wings
    Kelly Sultzbach ENG ksultzbach@uwlax.edu 785-6930 425T CWH
    Laurie Kincman THA lkincman@uwlax.edu 785-6690 354 CFA
    Jo Arney POL/PUB jarney@uwlax.edu 785-6641 421A CWH

     

     

    Questions regarding CLS Public Relations?

    • Contact: Julia Johnson, Ph.D., Director of the School of Arts & Communication