University of Wisconsin-La Crosse | uwlax.edu

Communication Studies

Expand page menu
Skip to page menu

Our people

Department Chair

Linda Dickmeyer Profile
Professor
4210 Centennial Hall
ldickmeyer@uwlax.edu
608.785.6715
Specialty areas: Interpersonal Communication, Instructional Communication, Undergraduate Research
Office hours: Fall 2016: Tuesdays 1:00-2:00 pm & Wednesdays 10:00-11:00 am

Academic Department Associate

Laurie Collison Profile
Academic Department Associate
4206 Centennial Hall
lcollison@uwlax.edu
608.785.8519

Department people

Amber Jannusch Profile
Lecturer
4207 Centennial Hall
ajannusch@uwlax.edu
608.785.6697
Specialty areas:

Interpersonal Communication, Persuasion, Argumentation, Public Speaking


Office hours:

Mondays and Wednesdays 2:30-4:00 and by appointment.

Ayesha Patnaik Profile
Lecturer
4228 Centennial Hall
apatnaik@uwlax.edu
608.785.6718
Specialty areas: CST 110 Communicating Effectively
Office hours: Tuesday/Thursday 9:30 - 11:30 am
Beth Boser Profile
Assistant Professor
4225 Centennial Hall
bboser@uwlax.edu
608.785.6702
Specialty areas:

Media, Rhetoric, Advocacy, Gender


Office hours:

M 11am-12pm, T 2:15-3:15pm, W 11am-12pm, and by appointment

Charissa Niedzwiecki Profile
Associate Professor
4215 Centennial Hall
cniedzwiecki@uwlax.edu
608.785.6712
Specialty areas: Family, Health, Interpersonal and Media
Dena Huisman Profile
Associate Professor
4214 Centennial Hall
dhuisman@uwlax.edu
608.785.8367
Specialty areas:

Communication and Identity, Grief Communication, Family Communication


Office hours:

Tuesdays 1-3; Thursdays 10-11; by appointment

Daniel Modaff Profile
Associate Professor
4221 Centennial Hall
dmodaff@uwlax.edu
608.785.6716
Specialty areas:

Organizational Communication


Office hours:

Tuesday and Thursday 11-12; Wednesday 1:15-2:15; and by appointment

David Solie Profile
Lecturer
4217 Centennial Hall
dsolie@uwlax.edu
608.785.6721
Gabriel Grelle Profile
Associate Lecturer
4222 Centennial Hall
ggrelle@uwlax.edu
608.785.8519
Gregory Ormes Profile
Assistant Professor
4213 Centennial Hall
gormes@uwlax.edu
608.785.8714
Specialty areas:

Organizational Communication


Office hours:

M & W - 10:00 p.m. to 11:00 p.m. ; T & Th - 1:00 p.m. to 2:00 p.m.

Heike Hunter Profile
Lecturer
4220 Centennial Hall
hhunter@uwlax.edu
608.785.6713
Specialty areas:

Communicating Effectively


Office hours:

M-Th: 11:30 - 2:00 and by appointment.

Janna Dziak-Morken Profile
Lecturer
4207 Centennial Hall
jdziak-morken@uwlax.edu
608.785.6699
Specialty areas: Interpersonal Communication
Office hours: M/W 1 p.m. - 2 p.m., and F 10 - 12N or by appointment
Jennifer Butler Modaff Profile
Associate Professor
4219 Centennial Hall
jbutlermodaff@uwlax.edu
608.785.6717
Specialty areas:

Organizational Communication


Office hours:

Monday and Wednesday 11am-12:00pm, Friday 8:30am-9:30am, and by appointment

Julia Johnson Profile
Dean
235 Morris Hall
jjohnson2@uwlax.edu
608.785.8113
Specialty areas: Intercultural Communication, Critical Race and Gender, Transgender Identities, Diversity and Social Justice
Office hours: TBD
Joseph Van Oss Profile
Lecturer
4218 Centennial Hall
jvanoss@uwlax.edu
608.785.6709
Specialty areas:

Human communication, scientific and technical communication


Office hours:

MWF 2:15 to 4:00, TTh 9-12, and other times by appointment

Katherine Lavelle Profile
Assistant Professor
4209 Centennial Hall
klavelle@uwlax.edu
608.785.6698
Specialty areas: Advocacy & Communication Criticism, Communication and Sport
Office hours: MW 1-2pm; T/TH 8:40-9:10am (other times by appointment)
Linda Dickmeyer Profile
Professor
4210 Centennial Hall
ldickmeyer@uwlax.edu
608.785.6715
Specialty areas: Interpersonal Communication, Instructional Communication, Undergraduate Research
Office hours: Fall 2016: Tuesdays 1:00-2:00 pm & Wednesdays 10:00-11:00 am
Michael Tollefson Profile
Associate Professor
4211 Centennial Hall
mtollefson2@uwlax.edu
608.785.6710
Specialty areas:

Persuasion, Argumentation, Undergraduate Research


Office hours:

9-10:30 TuTh 10-11 W

Nicole Ploeger-Lyons Profile
Assistant Professor
4227 Centennial Hall
nploeger-lyons@uwlax.edu
608.785.8713
Specialty areas:

Organizational Communication, Interpersonal Communication


Office hours:

MW 11:00 a.m. - 12:00 p.m., TR 1:00 p.m. - 2:00 p.m., and by appointment

Patricia Turner Profile
Associate Professor
203 Wing Technology Center
pturner@uwlax.edu
608.785.8369
Specialty areas: Consumer Behavior, Digital Media Technologies, Media Dynamics, Audience Research
Office hours: 11 - 12 Mon. - Fri.
Robert Eberle Profile
Senior Lecturer
4208 Centennial Hall
reberle@uwlax.edu
608.785.6723
Office hours:

Please see current course syllabus. Tuesday and Thursday: 8:30 to 9:15 and 1:30 to 2:15

Ronda Leahy Profile
Professor
4212 Centennial Hall
rleahy@uwlax.edu
608.785.6724
Specialty areas: Professional and Organizational Communication
Rick King Quale Profile
Associate Lecturer
4224 Centennial Hall
rkingquale@uwlax.edu
608.785.6705
Scott Dickmeyer Profile
Associate Professor
4223 Centennial Hall
sdickmeyer@uwlax.edu
608.785.8519
Specialty areas: Organizational Communication, Organizational Culture, Training & Development and Consulting
Office hours: Tuesday: 2:15-3:15, Wednesday: 10:00-11:00, Thursday: 2:15-3:15
Sara Docan-Morgan Profile
Associate Professor
4229 Centennial Hall
sdocan-morgan@uwlax.edu
608.785.6711
Specialty areas: interpersonal communication, family communication, Korean adoptees, race and culture
Tony Docan-Morgan Profile
Professor
4231 Centennial Hall
tdocan@uwlax.edu
608.785.6722
Terence Smith Profile
Lecturer
4226 Centennial Hall
tsmith@uwlax.edu
608.785.8523
Specialty areas: Public Speaking
Office hours: MWF - 11am - 12pm, TTh - 10am - 11am
Virginia Otto Profile
Associate Lecturer
4224 Centennial Hall
votto@uwlax.edu
608.785.8716
William Lucio Profile
Associate Lecturer
4226 Centennial Hall
wlucio@uwlax.edu
608.785.8373
Specialty areas:

Public Speaking; Gender Comm; Leadership Comm; LGBT Comm


Office hours:

M/W: 11am-12pm & Tu/Th 2pm-3:45pm

 

Emeriti faculty

James Putz