Keynote Speakers

Robert H. Pasternack, Ph.D. is the Senior Vice President of Special Education for Voyager Learning Company. Dr. Pasternack served as Assistant Secretary for the Office of Special Education and Rehabilitative Services (OSERS) at the U.S. Department of Education from 2001 to 2004. During his tenure, he was responsible for the reauthorization of the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA) and the implementation of No Child Left Behind (NCLB). In addition, Dr. Pasternack served on two Presidential Commissions, including the President's Commission on Excellence in Special Education and the President's Mental Health Commission. Dr. Pasternack also served as the Chair of the Federal Interagency Coordinating Committee during his appointment as the Assistant Secretary.

Prior to being appointed by President Bush to this position, Dr. Pasternack was the State Director of Special Education for the State of New Mexico. During his distinguished career in New Mexico, Dr. Pasternack was a teacher, a superintendent of schools, the director of the state's first residential treatment center for children with serious emotional and behavioral problems, and Chief Executive Officer of New Mexico's first licensed Comprehensive Children's Community Mental Health Center. His work in New Mexico included improving outcomes and results for children with disabilities, implementing full day Kindergarten with mandatory use of scientifically based reading interventions, training of teachers on the signs and symptoms of mental health problems, parent-professional partnership, resiliency in juvenile delinquents, and a number of innovative efforts to serve ALL students.

Dr. Pasternack is a nationally certified school psychologist, a certified educational diagnostician, a certified school administrator, and a certified teacher (K-12). Recipient of numerous honors and awards, he is a frequent presenter at local, state, regional, national, and international conferences

ChristTheodore Christ, Ph.D., is a professor of Educational Psychology, at the University of Massachusetts. Dr. Christ provides consultation and training to companies and school districts. Common topics include problem solving, response to intervention, assessment for instruction, curriculum based measurement, assessment of school/classroom behavior, and progress monitoring.

Dr. Christ serves on the Editorial Review Boards of School Psychology Review, Journal of School Psychology, School Psychology Forum, School Psychology Quarterly and Assessment for Effective Intervention. He is a Principle Panelist for the Institute of Education Sciences Special Education Panel and Technical Review Committee of the National Center for Response to Intervention.  Dr. Christ was the 2009 Division 16 Program Chair for the American Psychological Association (APA).

Dr Christ was the 2008 recipient of APA Division 16Lightner Witmer Award for “scholarly activity and contributions that have significantly nourished school psychology as a discipline and profession … [and for] exceptional potential and promise to contribute knowledge and professional insights that are of uncommon and extraordinary quality.”

Session Speakers

The Wisconsin School Psychologists Association (WSPA) is approved by the National Association of School Psychologists to offer continuing education for psychologists. The University of Wisconsin-La Crosse (UW-L) is approved by the American Psychological Association to offer continuing education for psychologists. WSPA and UW-L maintain responsibility for these programs and their content.