2010-2011
UW-La Crosse Academic Calendar

Semester I

2010-2011

Academic Year Begins Officially

Monday, August 30

New Student Orientation

Saturday, September 4 to Monday, September 6

Labor Day—Holiday (no classes)

Monday, September 6

Classes Begin 7:45 a.m.

Tuesday, September 7

Last Day for online WINGS* schedule changes

Monday, September 13

Midsemester

Friday, October 22

Last Day to Withdraw from Classes

Friday, October 29

Last Day to Withdraw from University

Friday, November 19

Special Days

Thursday classes-Tuesday, November 23 Friday classes-Wednesday, November 24

Thanksgiving: Recess Begins 5:30 p.m.

Wednesday, November 24

Classes Resume 7:45 a.m.

Monday, November 29

Last Day of Classes

Wednesday, December 15

Study Day

Thursday, December 16

Finals Begin

Friday, December 17

Finals End at 9:00 p.m.

Wednesday, December 22

Commencement

Sunday, December 19

Grades Due

Grade submission deadline to be determined after 09-10 pilot timeline is assessed

Semester I Ends 9:15 p.m.

Thursday, December 30

J-Term/Winter Intersession

January 3-21
Grades submission deadline to be determined after 09-10 pilot timeline is assessed

Semester II

2010-2011

Martin Luther King, Jr. Holiday

Monday, January 17

Semester II Begins Officially

Tuesday, January 18

New Student Orientation

Sunday, January 23

Classes Begin 7:45 a.m.

Monday, January 24

Last Day for online WING* schedule changes

Friday, January 28

Midsemester

Friday, March 11

Spring Recess: Recess Begins 5:30 p.m.

Friday, March 11

Classes Resume 7:45 a.m.

Monday, March 21

Last Day to Withdraw from Classes

Friday, March 25

Last Day to Withdraw from University

Friday, April 15

Last Day of Classes

Friday, May 6

Finals Begin

Monday, May 9

Finals End at 9:00 p.m.

Friday, May 13

Commencement

Saturday, May 14

Grades Due

Grade submission deadline to be determined after 09-10 pilot timeline is assessed

Semester II Ends 9:15 p.m.

Friday, May 20

Academic Year Ends Officially

Sunday, May 29

Summer Session I

2011

Begins

Monday, May 23

Holiday (no classes)

Monday, May 30

Last Day of Classes/Final Exams

Friday, June 17

Summer Session II

2011

Begins

Monday, June 20

Holiday (no classes)

Monday, July 4

Last Day of Classes/Final Exams

Friday, July 15

Summer Session III

2011

Begins

Monday, July 18

Last Day of Classes/Final Exams

Friday, August 12

Grades Due for all Summer Sessions

Grade submission deadline to be determined after 09-10 pilot timeline is assessed

  * Formerly known as TALON system