Committee on Academic Policies and Standards (CAPS)

Minutes for 10/29/04


Faculty Members Present: Jac Bulk, Susan Crutchfield, Mike Haupert, Mark Headington, Adrienne Loh (Chair), Gary MacDonald, Marc Rott, Bill Wehrs

Members Absent: Ryan Kockler

Members Excused: Emily Kruger, Marcie Wycoff-Horn

Guests/Consultants: Carla Burkhardt (EESHR), Amelia Dittman (CBA), Sandy Keller (EESHR), Kathy Kiefer (Admissions)Guy Herling (EESHR), Diane Schumacher (Registrar), Dean Stroud (Provost’s Office)


1.  The meeting was called to order by chair Loh at 12:06 p.m.


2.  The minutes from the 10/08 meeting were unanimously approved.


3.  Old Business

       Summer Session Policy Appeals

Loh presented a draft of a Summer Session Start Date Appeal Form for discussion and revision.  The committee suggested changes to the document, considering what kind of information to request from appellants, how to accommodate program-wide and single-course requests on one form, and whose signatures to request, among other issues.  Loh will distribute a revised version of the form for discussion and possible approval at the next meeting.


4.  The meeting was adjourned at 1 p.m.



Respectfully submitted,


Susan Crutchfield

Approved 11/19/04