August 26, 2005


TO:                  Carla Graham, Convener

                        Academic Program Review Committee


FROM:            Carmen Wilson, Chair

                        Faculty Senate


RE:                   Committee Charge for 2005-2006 Academic Year


This memo is intended to serve as the initial charge letter to the Academic Program Review Committee for the 2005-06 academic year.  As the convener of the APR Committee, it is your responsibility to arrange, as soon as feasible, an organizational meeting, the primary purpose of which is to elect a chairperson and a secretary.  Please share this memo with the committee members either at the organizational meeting or, if you prefer, prior to that meeting.


Primary responsibilities of the chairperson include:

o       promptly informing the Senate office (5-8018) the results of the election of officers and any changes in committee membership.*

o       organizing and conducting meetings.

o       completing a year end report on the APR activities to be submitted to the Senate Office no later than May 31, 2006.


*The committee chairperson should carefully review the policies on committee attendance and the role of alternates on pgs. 10-11, of the 8-27-01 Articles & By-laws materials distributed by Jennifer Wilson's office. 


Primary responsibilities of the secretary include:

o       recording minutes of each meeting.

o       sending meeting minutes to Sibbie Weathers ( so that the minutes can be posted on the faculty senate website. 


In the event the committee chooses to rotate secretarial duties, please designate one person to be responsible for e-mailing the meeting minutes to Sibbie Weathers.


Duties and responsibilities of the committee shall include:

  1. Maintaining and updating the procedures and criteria used to review existing academic programs at UW-L.
  2. Scheduling and conducting, in consultation with the provost/vice chancellor, the audit and review of academic programs.
  3. Reviewing the Faculty Workload Policy and monitoring its application.


Membership of the committee shall consist of nine faculty members and three students. The faculty membership shall include at least two representatives from the College of Liberal Studies and one representative from each of the following academic units:  the College of Science and Allied Health, the College of Business Administration, and the College of Education, Exercise Science, Health and Recreation.  The provost/vice chancellor and the academic deans shall serve as administrative consultants to the committee. The committee shall elect its chairperson.

In addition to the committee's normal duties, special charges for the upcoming year are to:

o       revise APR guidelines.  Consider improving specificity and clarity, including assessment of student learning outcomes, processes involved (e.g. how to ask for a deferment, what is the difference between deferment and delay) as well as other areas.

o       forward revised APR guidelines to Faculty Senate for posting on the APR webpage.


You may find the NCA accreditation criteria helpful in your deliberations.  These criteria can be accessed at


Please plan to submit a report on the revised guidelines to faculty senate no later than March 23, 2006.   If you have questions or concerns regarding these charges, please contact me at any time during the year.


Finally, if the Senate Executive Committee or I can assist your committee in any way during the year, please do not hesitate to ask.