Friday, November 3, 2006-10:00 a.m.

325 Graff Main Hall


Members Present:    Vijendra Agarwal, Lauren Cikara, Peggy Denton, Tim Donahue,  Yang Il Park, S.N. Rajagopal, David Reineke, William Schwan, Teri Staloch


Members Excused:  Gary Gilmore, Steve Simpson


Members Absent:  Jonathan Majak, Kasi Periyasamy


Consultants Present:  Chris Bakkum, Lise Graham, Diane Schumacher, Rob Tyser


Others Present:  Steve Senger and Tom Gendreau


1.  The meeting was called to order at 10:03 am. by Bill Schwan


2.  A motion was made by Tim Donahue and seconded by Teri Staloch to approve the minutes for the October 6, 2006 meeting.  (9 yes, 0 no, 0 abstention)


Motion carried.


3.  Five year (BS + MS) program proposed by Computer Science Department

  • Steve Senger and Tom Gendreau presented a plan to offer a five year BS/MSE degree.  The program would like the Graduate Council to approve credit waivers and allow students to not begin paying graduate tuition until they have completed 9 graduate credits.  The program also suggested a model that would have the students paying graduate tuition from the start of graduate coursework.  The Council asked questions of Steve Senger and Tom Gendreau.
  • A motion was made by S.N. Rajagopal to have the students assume graduate student status in the 8th semester of the program as it was presented by the department.  It was seconded by David Reineke.  This motion would create two waivers for the program: 1) waive existing policy so that students in the program may count 6 graduate credits towards the Computer Science B.S. degree, and 2) waive existing policy so that students may enroll in up to 9 graduate credits while maintaining undergraduate status.  (4 yes, 3 no, 2 abstentions)


Motion carried.


4.  The Graduate Council Advisory Committee’s Responsibilities were discussed. 

  • Members of the Council reviewed the suggested list of responsibilities created by the Committee.  The Council requested changing item 5 on the list of responsibilities to read “Be a sounding board for the Director of Graduate Studies, when there is a decision that the Director can make, but would like to have a collective wisdom looking at the issue.”
  • A motion was made by Tim Donahue to approve the committee responsibilities as amended.  It was seconded by S.N. Rajagopal.  (9 yes, 0 no, 0 abstention)


Motion carried.


5.  Vijendra Agarwal made the Council aware of a situation involving the RSEL grant deadline.  At least one professor found the older version of the application which states that the application deadline is the second Friday of November.  The professor requested an extended RSEL grant deadline which would have accommodated at least 3 students.  The sense of the Council is that the new application and deadlines have been available since mid August and 18 applications were received on time.  Any applications submitted at this time would be considered at the February deadline.


6.  A motion was made to move into closed session to consider Graduate Faculty applications as provided in sections 19.85(1)(F) of Wisconsin.  A roll call vote was taken on the motion.  (9 yes, 0 no, 0 abstention)


  • The Council was advised that one application would be heard at a later date.
  • All faculty applicants receiving affirmative votes from both members of the review committee were voted unanimously for the requested Graduate Faculty status (24 from CLS, 22 from SAH). 
  • Subsequently, the Grad Council discussed the remaining application.  Following the discussion, the faculty member was elected to be in the Graduate Faculty status that had been requested.


In Summary:


            CLS: 5 Full, 6 Associate, and 13 Affiliate

            SAH:  15 Full, 5 Associate, 2 Assistant, and 1 Affiliate


Meeting adjourned:  11:10 a.m.


Respectfully submitted,


Chandra Hawkins


C:         Graduate Council Members

            Department Chairs

            Graduate Program Directors

            Faculty Senate

            Graduate Council File