Minutes of Undergraduate Research Committee Meeting

5pm October 29th, 2007


Present: Vijendra Agrawal, Cheryl Behnke, John Benton, Gretchen Berns, Amery Bodelson  Ashley Burrowes, Beth Cherne, Jordan Coffey, Jon Davies,  Barbara Eide, Tim Gongaware, James Peirce, Keely Rees.

Meeting started at 5:00pm.

The committee discussed the submitted undergraduate research grants.

Email ballots to stdtresearch@uwlax.edu by 5:00 p.m., Monday, November 5, 2007.

A motion was approved to discuss the distinction between undergraduate research and independent study.  The discussion was tabled for a future meeting. 

A motion to not accept a late application was approved.

V.J. Agrawal suggested that $5000 can be taken from the URC budget for the 2008-2009 academic year to sponsor more students for travel to NCUR in Spring 2008.  Another committee member suggested that another $5000 could be earmarked for support for NCUR 2010.   The committee decided to table the discussion to the next meeting.

The next URC meeting is Wednesday November 7th at 4:30 pm.

Meeting ended at 7:30p.m.

Submitted by James Peirce.