Committee on Academic Policies and Standards (CAPS)

Minutes for January 20th, 2010


Members present:   S. Anglehart, J. Boyle, B. Butterfield, K. Hunt, E. Kraemer, P.Miller, S. Morris, P. Randolph, S. Van Dalsem

Members excused: 

Consultants:            C. Burkhardt, A. Dittman, S. Keller, S. Stine, T. Walls

Guests:                    T. Passon, K. Van Vleet



  1. The meeting was called to order at 8:30 am by S. Anglehart.  


  1. M/S to approve October 23rd minutes as amended  (8-0-0)

3.      M/S to approve Summer Session Start Date Appeal for ACC 421 (8-0-0)


  1. M/S to go into closed session to hear student appeals.  By roll call vote, motion passed.  For each appeal, the standing motion is to approve the appeal. (8-0-0)


**E. Kraemer arrived at 8:38 am.

  1. The committee heard appeals of academic ineligibility from four College of Business (CBA) students:

L. L.                                                                Approved        8-0-1 
J. D.                                                                 Denied            0-9-0
Y. X.                                                               Approved        9-0-0
L. N.                                                                Denied            0-8-1


  1. The committee heard appeals of academic ineligibility from three College of Liberal Studies (CLS) students:


S. R.                                                                Denied             0-9-0                                                   

S. Z.                                                                Approved        7-2-0 

D. F.                                                                Approved        9-0-0


7.      Motion to approve the replacement of the PHL 101 with Elementary Logic PHL 211 for the purpose of meeting the requirements for the philosophy major for R. G. 

Approved        9-0-0


            **K. Hunt left at 12:00 pm



8.      The committee heard appeals of academic ineligibility from two College of Science and Health (SAH) students:


E. M.                                                               Approved        8-0-0 

R. K.                                                               Denied             0-8-0                                                   


  1. The meeting was adjourned at 12:55 p.m.


Respectfully submitted,

Shane Van Dalsem, Recorder