University of Wisconsin-La Crosse


MINUTES of the meeting of Friday, February 12, 2010


PRESENT: Tim Gerber (chair), Matt Foltz, Steve McDougal, Dena Huisman, Don Kuderer, Anita Evans, Michele Strange, Sandra Koster, William Ross, John Jax, Andy Schauer, Barb Bennie


The meeting was called to order at 2:15 PM in Murphy Library Room 120.


Introductions of new members were made.


Academic Initiatives


The Regents approved the differential tuition proposal for UW-L. The timeline on the funding starts with FY11 (or July 1, 2010), and thus will be part of the Fall Term 2010 planning. The details of the allocations are with the Academic Initiatives Oversight Committee (AIOC). The committee reviewed data on extended hours from a survey of students done by students in BUS 230, the primary areas of concern are library hours and electronic resources. Anita shared building-use statistics kept by the Murphy staff. Various ideas about extending hours were discussed. The Student Senate is meeting on this issue on February 17, 2010 and a final decision is expected by February 18. The AIOC seems concerned with extending hours on specific days. Lots of details to be worked out. The allocation will be made by the AIOC, but the details of its use will be up to the Library. AIOC will conduct subsequent evaluation of the impact on students.

Other concerns raised: Will there be restrictions on supporting electronic databases? There seems to be talk of doing so on the AIOC. Anita said that use statistics are available and would be reported to AIOC, and also said that our questions were best raised with AIOC especially on matters of transparency and continuity. There will be opportunities next year for the Library Committee to evaluate the impact of the new allocations.


SPRING SEMESTER MEETINGS:             Friday, March 5, 2010 – 2:15 PM

                                                                     Friday, April 9, 2010 – 2:15 PM

                                                                     Friday, May 7, 2010 – 2:15 PM


Meeting adjourned at 3:15 PM


Respectfully submitted, 

Stephen McDougal, secretary