University of Wisconsin-La Crosse | uwlax.edu

Geography and Earth Science

Expand page menu
Skip to page menu

Our people

Department Chair

Cynthia Berlin Profile
Professor
2027 Cowley Hall
cberlin@uwlax.edu
608.785.8340

Academic Department Associate

Debra Gerke Profile
Academic Department Associate
105 Graff Main Hall
dgerke@uwlax.edu
608.785.8219
Office hours: Monday - Friday 8:00 - 4:30

Department People

Colin Belby Profile
Associate Professor
2021 Cowley Hall
cbelby@uwlax.edu
608.785.8339
Specialty areas: Geomorphology, Rivers, Water Resources
Office hours: TBA
Cynthia Berlin Profile
Professor
2027 Cowley Hall
cberlin@uwlax.edu
608.785.8340
Daniel Sambu Profile
Assistant Professor
2024 Cowley Hall
dsambu@uwlax.edu
608.785.8342
Specialty areas: Conservation, Sustainable Development, Water Resources, Geo-Science Education
Office hours: Monday 1:30 -2:30 PM, Wednesday 1:30-2:30 PM, Friday 1:30- 2:30 PM
Gargi Chaudhuri Profile
Assistant Professor
2022 Cowley Hall
gchaudhuri@uwlax.edu
608.785.8338
Specialty areas: Geographic Information System and Science, Spatial Simulation Modeling, Land use and land cover change, Network Analysis, and Cartography.
Georges Cravins Profile
Professor
2015 Cowley Hall
gcravins@uwlax.edu
608.785.6674
Joan Bunbury Profile
Assistant Professor
2025 Cowley Hall
jbunbury@uwlax.edu
608.785.8402
Specialty areas:

Paleoclimatology, biogeography, freshwater environments


Office hours:

Mondays and Wednesdays 2:30-4:00pm, Wednesdays 11:00am-12:00pm

Jeffrey Kueny Profile
Lecturer
133 Wittich Hall
jkueny@uwlax.edu
608.785.8337
Paul Reyerson Profile
Assistant Professor
2020 Cowley Hall
preyerson@uwlax.edu
608.785.6675
Specialty areas: Soils, geomorphology, biogeochemistry, paleoenvironments
Office hours: Monday 12:00-2:00, Tuesday 11:00-12:00, Wednesday 10:00-12:00
Niti Mishra Profile
Assistant Professor
2004 Cowley Hall
nmishra@uwlax.edu
608.785.8334
Specialty areas:

GIScience, Cartography, Remote Sensing


Office hours:

Mon-Thu : 2:30 - 3:30 PM (Fall 2016)

John Kelly Profile
Assistant Professor
2023 Cowley Hall
jkelly@uwlax.edu
608.785.8341

GIS Lab Manager

Steven Fulton Profile
Gis Lab Manager
241 Cowley Hall
sfulton@uwlax.edu
608.785.8336
Office hours: Monday, Wednesday, Thursday 9am - 12pm

Retired Faculty

Dr. Rafique Ahmed - Emeritus
Ph.D. in Geography
Ohio State University
Years of teaching service: 1984 - 2015
E-Mail: rahmed@uwlax.edu

Dr. Greg Chu - Emeritus
Ph.D. in Geography
University of Hawaii - Manoa
Years of teaching service: 1993 - 2010
E-Mail: chu.greg@uwlax.edu

Dr. Mehmet Aritan - Emeritus
Ph.D. in Geography
University of Kentucky
Years of teaching service: 1979 - 2009
E-mail: aritan.mehm@uwlax.edu

Dr. Harun Rashid - Emeritus
Ph.D. in Geography
University of Saskatchewan
Years of teaching service: 2004 - 2009
E-mail: rasid.haru@uwlax.edu

Dr. Dean Wilder - Emeritus
Ph.D. in Geography
University of Colorado - Boulder
Years of teaching service: 1978 - 2008
E-mail: wilder.dean@uwlax.edu

Dr. Robert Wingate - Emeritus
Ph.D. in Geography
University of Minnesota
Years of teaching service: 1965 - 2005
E-Mail: wingate.robe@uwlax.edu

Dr. Paul Stoelting - Emeritus
Ph.D. in Geography
University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee
Years of teaching service: 1986 - 2004
E-mail: stoeltin.paul@uwlax.edu

Dr. Virgil Holder - Emeritus
Ph.D. in Geography
University of Minnesota
Years of teaching service: 1965 - 2002
E-mail: holder.virg@uwlax.edu

Mr. John Hoefer
M.S. in Geography
University of Wisconsin-Madison
Years of teaching service: 1966 - 1990