Classified Staff Council (CSC) Minutes Tuesday, May 12, 2015

Call to Order: 2:00 pm

<u>Attendees</u>: Karry Auby, Kelley Becker, Bill Grinde, Ingrid Iverson, Ben Kolpitke, Tim Miller, Terry Stika, Cyndi Taylor, and Maureen Wilson

<u>**Guests</u>**: AJ Clauss, Tina Connelly, Mary Grattan, Brandon Harris, Timothy M. Hartwig, Beth Hill, Madeline Holzem, Susanne Koehler, Caitlin Milnthorpe, John Pieper, Tracey Simpson, Kathy Thoen, and Libby Thorson.</u>

Absent: John Gray, Jim Treu

Approval of Minutes: April M/S/A

Business –

Election Results M/S/A. New members introduced: Brandon Harris, Kathy Thoen, John Pieper, Mary Grattan, and Tracey Simpson.

There may be further budget discussions. Karry will keep the Council updated.

Student Association Resolution: Members of the Student Association came to discuss the resolution #SA1415-043: *Resolution to Support Trans Task Force Preferred Name Policy* This resolution has been 10 years in the making. It was discussed that the Council did not want to support a resolution that was not lawful or capable of being implemented. Beth Hill has been working with the Task Force and assured that these were not issues. CSC M/S/A to support the Resolution.

PAPD – The Program Associate Professional Development has agreed to move \$6,552.94 to a 136 account for CSC with the stipulation that it be used for Professional Development. The money needed to be moved from the Provost office to keep it from being swept. Per Kristin Stanley, this money along with the other money that was allotted to us from undistributable DMC money will not be swept and will remain for future use by CSC. CSC now has a 102 account, a 136 account, and a SFO account. The SFO account is where the money that CSC gets from Rotary Lights is deposited.

Bylaws Committee – M/S/A to make the name change to University Staff Council (USC) from Classified Staff Council (CSC) per the change effective July 1, 2015. The Committee should also address the change in Quorum for the newly expanded Council. It was suggested to use 66% of occupied seats.

Committee requests will be going out to all classified staff soon.

Classified Excellence Committee has met and chosen a winner for the Excellence Award. This will be on the Agenda for the June meeting.

Adjourn – Next Regular Meeting - Tuesday, June 9, 2015, 325 Graff Main Hall

Respectively submitted, Cynthia A. Taylor