Contact Information

220 Morris Hall
1725 State Street
La Crosse, WI 54601
Office: (608) 785-8007
Fax: (608) 785-8743
For grants questions: grants@uwlax.edu
For IRB questions: irb@uwlax.edu

Our Staff

Melissa Nielsen, Director, Research & Sponsored Programs

Responsible for promoting Research and Scholarship by faculty and staff; providing administrative oversight for Sponsored Programs. Works with faculty and staff to assist them in identifying grant opportunities, writing proposals, and navigating the grant seeking process. Additionally, she works to promote and improve grant writing and seeking throughout the campus community by assisting with budget development, offering workshops, and reviewing final drafts of proposals. 

(608) 785-8050,  mnielsen@uwlax.edu

Margaret (Peg) Maher, Faculty Fellow, Research & Sponsored Programs

Responsible for promoting Research and Scholarship by faculty and staff. Works with faculty and staff to assist them in navigating the grant seeking process. Additionally, she works to promote and improve grant writing and seeking throughout the campus community by assisting with budget development and reviewing final drafts of proposals. She also conducts NIH grant / IACUC protocol congruency checks.

Jodi Vandenberg-Daves, Faculty Fellow, Research & Sponsored Programs

Responsible for promoting Research and Scholarship by faculty and staff. Works with faculty and staff to assist them in navigating the grant seeking process. Additionally, she works to promote and improve grant writing and seeking throughout the campus community by assisting with budget development and reviewing final drafts of proposals.

(608) 785-8007, mmaher@uwlax.edu

Paula Lund, Grant Accountant

Provides post-award accounting support for grants and contracts.

(608) 785-8488, plund@uwlax.edu

Chandra Hawkins, Grants and Compliance Coordinator

Provides administrative support for grants, research, and sponsored programs. Additionally, she is the campus coordinator for the RCR and FCOI compliance policies.

(608) 785-8007, chawkins@uwlax.edu

Mike Kennedy, Program Assistant II

Provides administrative support for Graduate Studies and IRB.

(608) 785-8124, mkennedy@uwlax.edu