Community borrower cards are available to Wisconsin residents who are over 18 years of age and have a valid Wisconsin Public Library card. A non-refundable $25.00 processing fee is assessed for each card issued. Residents of the counties of Houston, Winona and Wabasha in Minnesota are eligible for a community borrower card with a valid Wisconsin or Minnesota public library card. A non-refundable $50.00 processing fee is assessed for each card. Minnesota residents who own property in Wisconsin may obtain a library card for $25.00 by showing a copy of their property tax bill.
Applications for cards may be obtained at the Circulation Desk. You will be asked to present a Wisconsin (or Minnesota) public library card and a photo ID. Although your card will not be ready for a few days, you may borrow library materials immediately. Cards must be picked up in person from the Circulation Desk.
The community borrower card is valid for two years. If the card is not renewed within 90 days of the expiration date, the registration fee will be charged again upon re-registration. The fee to replace a lost card is $5.00.
The circulating collection consists of books, government documents, maps, and microforms. Reference books, periodicals and material housed in the Area Research Center do not circulate. The Reserve collection circulates to UW La Crosse students and faculty only.
Cards are not transferable and must be presented in order to check out materials. .
Borrowers are responsible for all materials checked out and are expected to return or renew borrowed items by the due date. A borrower’s responsibility does not end until materials have been returned to and discharged by the library.
Borrowers are expected to respond to all library notices and are responsible for notifying the library of mailing address changes or corrections.
A limit of 10 books per person is imposed to ensure that the collection is not depleted in any one area.
Books are checked out for 30 days and may be renewed once unless they have been requested by another patron. Overdue books may not be renewed until fines are paid.
Patrons may place holds on books that are in use. When the book is returned, the requesting patron will be notified and will have 10 days to pick up the book at the circulation desk.
Patrons may renew books and place holds in person, by phone, or electronically on the library web page.
Videos and DVDs circulate for 3 days with one renewal.
Fines of $.25 a day per item are assessed for books that are not returned by the due date. The maximum fine is $10.00 per item. A book is presumed lost after 30 days. At that time a $60.00 replacement fee plus a $15.00 processing fee is assessed on each item. Charges are modified upon return of an item. Items returned within 4 months of the date presumed lost receive the maximum fine plus a $7.50 processing fee. Replacement copies of lost books may be supplied by the patron to avoid the $60.00 charge. NOTE: the replacement copy must be identical to the lost item. Upon provision of the replacement copy a $7.50 processing fee is charged in addition to the overdue charges.
Fines of $1.00 a day per item are assessed for videos
and DVDs not returned by due date. Maximum fine is
$10.00 per item. Multimedia are presumed lost after 14
days. At that time the same fees as for books (see
above) are applied to each item.
**Fines accrue while library is closed**
NOTE: Borrowing privileges will be blocked when $5.00 in fines or fees have accumulated.
The Murphy Library Resource Center has a security system that is set off when someone exits without checking out library materials. Unauthorized possession of library material violates Wisconsin State Statutes and may result in prosecution. When the security system is set off, individuals are stopped and asked to open any bags for inspection. Please note: Public Library materials and rented videos will set off the security system. Second offenses result in the automatic loss of borrowing privileges. Persons who mutilate library materials are billed for the items damaged and automatically lose borrowing privileges. The minimum charge for mutilated items is $50.00.
Copy Machines: Coin operated paper and microform copier printers are available for use by the public at a cost of $0.10 per page and $0.15 per page respectively. Change is available at the circulation desk for bills $10.00 and under.
Interlibrary Loan: This service is not available to community borrowers. Please see staff at your public library for access to materials at other libraries.
Off-campus Database Access: This service is not available to community borrowers. Licensing agreements restrict off-campus access to patrons formally affiliated with the University of Wisconsin-La Crosse.
Reference Service: Limited reference assistance and basic bibliographic instruction are provided during Reference Desk hours.
Hours are posted at the main entrance of the library and on the library web page. Hours vary during intersession and the Summer semester. Please call 785-8808 to confirm library hours.
Metered parking is available near the library. Please refer to the gold areas on the campus map at http://www.uwlax.edu/map/. Murphy Library is building 23.Borrowing Privileges