NCUR 2009 Logo Information
Appreciation for the La Crosse Area has been present from the days of our earliest inhabitants. When the giant glaciers of the Ice Age retreated north, they left the La Crosse area virtually untouched.
In the 17th century, European settlers made their way through the rugged limestone formations and the narrow valleys until they reached the edge of the 500-foot bluffs overlooking the Mississippi River Valley. There, Lt. Zebulon Pike, an American soldier and explorer, saw the Winnebago Indians playing a game with sticks that resembled a bishop’s crozier (or la crosse in French). Soon, “Prairie La Crosse” became a major trading post, as commodities, freight, and more settlers arrived in the area.
The NCUR® 2009 logo features a sculpture that is a trademark of the city. This sculpture, which can be found at the intersection of Main Street and Harborview Plaza, depicts two Ho-Chunk Indians playing the game of their day, lacrosse. The Mississippi, the La Crosse, and the Black rivers became a gathering place for Native Americans, who learned to use the vast natural resources of the lush prairies near the rivers. La Crosse has been a gathering place with a rich heritage for more than 1000 years.
Today, people still travel the Mississippi River Valley to the La Crosse area to enjoy the scenic beauty of the autumn season, the festivals of summer and the recreation and natural beauty of the spring and winter.
Read more about the rich history of La Crosse, Wisconsin.