OCW Mission Statement

The The Organization for Campus Women (OCW) was founded in 1971 for the purpose of uniting UW-L women and has the following objectives:

  • To promote equal opportunity for all women.
  • To serve as a vehicle for communication among women at the University of Wisconsin–La Crosse.
  • To collaborate with other local, state and national organizations concerned with improving the status of women.
  • To conduct annual service projects to enhance the status of women.

OCW has an elected board which governs the overall organization. This Steering Committee is composed of three representatives from each of the three employment categories (academic staff, classified staff, and faculty) as well as the chairs of each of the committees. Current active committees include Honors/Scholarship/Fund Raising, Membership, Newsletter, Program, Symposium, and Y-Tribute.

Membership dues are $10 per year which is used for program support, printing, and refreshments.

The Jean L. Foss and Norene A. Smith OCW Scholarship, established in 1985 to assist non-traditional women students affiliated with UW-L, is awarded annually in the spring and paid to the student for the following academic year. Application information is available through the UW-L Foundation.