235 Cartwright Center



Chapter 36 of the Wisconsin State Statutes reads: “The students of each institution or campus shall have the right to organize themselves in a manner they determine and to select their representatives to participate in institutional governance.” To exercise that right, the students have established the University of Wisconsin-La Crosse Student Association (UW-LSA). Each student enrolled at UW-L is a member of the UW-LSA. The student government is divided into three branches: executive, legislative (Student Senate), and judicial. The executive and legislative branches are elected by the members of the UW-LSA each year. The judicial branch is appointed by the executive branch and approved by the legislative branch. All student governance and administrative agencies operate within the limits of authority prescribed by the faculty, the administration of the university, and the Board of Regents of the University of Wisconsin System.


Student-Faculty Committees

The Academic Affairs Committee is responsible for providing input on academic issues from the student perspective. This committee promotes the highest standards of academic integrity throughout the entire university community.


The Segregated University Fee Allocation Committee (SUFAC) recommends to the chancellor the manner in which funds collected by the state for support of student activities are to be distributed among eligible organizations.


The Athletics Committee is responsible for recommendations to SUFAC for funding of activity fees used in support of athletic programs, and for recommendations to the Student Senate regarding policies affecting the athletic program.


The Cultural Affairs Committee is responsible for making recommendations to the Apportionment Committee regarding distribution of student activity fees used in support of arts, music, theater, and programming for traditionally oppressed groups.


The Student Technology Fee Committee is responsible for recommending uses for the student technology fees to the Student Senate, which represents the final opinion of the students on the use of the student technology fees. This committee also represents the students on all technology-related issues.


The Legislative Affairs Committee is responsible for encouraging student participation in voting and other events and maintaining these by-laws of the various Student Senate committees.


The Organizations Committee is responsible for recommendations to the Student Senate for the formulation of general policies concerning student organizations, and for recommendations regarding the distribution of the allocable fees for programming organizations. It oversees activities of the Campus Activities Board, and the organizations grant program.


The Student Services and Buildings Committee recommends policy concerning services provided to students by the UW-L Student Association, which include: Campus Child Center, Financial Aid, Health Services, Legal Aid, Club Sports, Intramurals, Recreational Eagle Center, and the general policies for the University Centers.


Student Governance Associations

Pan-Hellenic and Inter-fraternity Councils are the governing bodies for the social sororities and fraternities. The Residence Hall Association Council (RHAC) formulates general policies for and serves as an administrative and judiciary agency governing residence halls.