Accessibility menu

Skip to main content Skip to footer

UWL Policy Group on Race

Posted 2:37 p.m. Tuesday, Nov. 9, 2021

A message from the Chancellor's office

Committed to promoting change on a systemic and foundational level

Good morning, colleagues and students.

I'm honored to introduce the UWL Policy Group on Race to campus. The Policy Group on Race was formed in the Fall of 2020 in response to the impacts of the murders of George Floyd and others. These acts of violence and the ensuing racial tension have had a great impact on institutions of higher education.

The members of this group were charged with examining potential racial barriers that continue to prohibit equal participation in the UWL educational community.

The Policy Group on Race is committed to promoting change on a systemic and foundational level. The Group has focused their work around the following areas: 1) Student Access and Retention, 2) Retention of Faculty and Staff, 3) Centering Anti-Racism Work at UWL.

In addition, the Policy Group on Race continues to look for best practices across institutions of higher education. By researching best practices, the Policy Group on Race looks forward to incorporating best practices to support our students, faculty and staff at UWL.

In the spirit of transparency, the Policy Group on Race will be meeting with Governance Groups during the fall semester to discuss their work in more detail and receive input. We invite you to attend your respective Governance Group meeting to learn more and ask questions of the Policy Group.

Current members of the Policy Race Group are:

John Acardo, Director, Human Resources

Alyssa Balboa Assistant Director, Human Resources

Ariel Beaujot Professor, History Department

Vitaliano Figueroa Vice Chancellor, Student Affairs

Roger Haro Associate Dean, College of Science and Health

Allen Hill Chief of University Police

Adrienne Loh Interim Associate Dean, School of Education

Leanne Vigue Miranda University Registrar, Records and Registration

Janie Morgan Director, Alumni Relations

Nese Nasif Assistant Professor, Marketing, College of Business

Kara Ostlund Dean of Students

Corey Sjoquist Assistant Vice Chancellor, Director of Admissions

Kristin Stanley Director, Budget Office

Barbara Stewart Vice Chancellor, Diversity and Inclusion

Antoiwana Williams Director, Multicultural Student Services

Yer Xiong Student Representative, UWL Student Association

Dina Zavala, Assistant Vice Chancellor, Diversity and Inclusion

Please join me in thanking the members of the UWL Policy Group on Race for the essential work they are doing!