January 23–24, 2021

Slide image
Slide image
Slide image

The United States Department of the Army has sponsored the national Junior Science and Humanities program since its inception in 1958, with the Department of the Navy and Air Force joining the program in 1995. This joint sponsorship and the cooperative efforts of universities throughout the nation has resulted in participation of 8,000 high school students and teachers at regional and national symposia annually. Forty-eight regional symposiums are held throughout the United States, Puerto Rico and Department of Defense schools in Europe and the Pacific. The National Symposium brings together 230 high school students, their teachers, faculty, and scientists.

The primary aim of JSHS is to encourage students at the high school level to engage in original research in the sciences, engineering, or mathematics. JSHS achieves this aim in a symposium format. The program features presentations of research conducted by high school students, public recognition and awards, and interaction with practicing research scientists. Objectives of the JSHS program are:

  • To promote research and experimentation in the sciences, mathematics, and engineering at the high school level.
  • To recognize the significance of research in human affairs, and the importance of humane and ethical principles in the application of research results.
  • To search out talented youth and their teachers, recognize their accomplishments at symposia, and encourage their continued interest and participation in the sciences, mathematics, and engineering.
  • To expand the horizons of research oriented students by exposing them to opportunities in the academic, industrial and governmental communities.
  • To increase the number of future adults capable of conducting research and development.
2020 Wisconsin-Upper Peninsula of Michigan Junior Science & Humanities Symposium Regional Recognition

Oral Presenters

1st - Neil Dogra, University School of Milwaukee 
2nd - Ahmad Abdel-Azim, Appleton North High School
3rd - Eden Winga, Central High School in La Crosse
4th - Vikram Ailiani, Onalaska High School
5th - Aiden Cook, Cashton High School

Poster Presenters

1st - Jacob Curtis, Big Foot High School
2nd - Kastyn Sherman, Big Foot High School
3rd - Madeleine Barger, Verona High School

Presidential Scholar

Neil Dogra, University School of Milwaukee 

Teacher Award

Julie Lundeen