Skip to main content

Accessibility menu

Skip to main content Skip to footer

Physical Electronics Conference (PEC)

A page within Physical Electronics Conference (PEC)

83rd Physical Electronics Conference

83rd Annual (PEC) Physical Electronics Conference UW-La Crosse

July 31–August 3, 2023
University of Wisconsin-La Crosse

The 83rd Physical Electronics Conference, including the prestigious Nottingham Prize Competition for the best presentation based on doctoral research, will be held at the University of Wisconsin-La Crosse, July 31–August 3, 2023. This topical conference provides a yearly forum for the dissemination and discussion of novel and fundamental theoretical and experimental research in the physics, chemistry, biology, and engineering of surfaces and interfaces. 

Who should attend:

Every year, physicists and chemists who specialize in the study of gas-solid, liquid-solid, and solid-solid interfaces convene to gather papers on both theoretical and experimental research conducted in these areas.

About the PEC Conference:

The topics covered include a range of properties such as electronic, chemical, magnetic, and structural features of interfaces, as well as kinetics and dynamics of physical and chemical changes occurring at surfaces. Also of interest are the formation, modeling, and properties of nano and mesoscale surface architectures, the impact of correlated electron effects, biological interactions with surfaces, mechanisms of surface and interface growth and evolution, and energy and electron transfer processes across material interfaces. The conference also features presentations on the properties of specially tailored surfaces, new techniques for measuring these properties, and demonstrations of new applications.

Thank you to our sponsors!

Nottingham Award Sponsor

Scienta Omicron

Attendee Sponsor

University of Wisconsin-La Crosse (UWL) College of Science and Health
OCI Vacuum Microengineering , Inc.
American Vacuum Society
UWL Alumni & Friends Foundation

2023 PEC Planning Committee

  • Seth King (chair) - University of Wisconsin-La Crosse
  • Sujat Sen - University of Wisconsin-La Crosse
  • Nuri Oncel - University of North Dakota
  • Robert Jacobberger - University of Wisconsin-Madison
  • Jason Kawasaki - University of Wisconsin-Madison
  • Erin Iski - University of Tulsa
  • Dmitry Ovchinnikov - University of Kansas
  • Vivian Ferry - University of Minnesota