Scholarships are a great source for funding higher education.  Students are often unaware of the wide variety of scholarships available to them.  We encourage all our students to take full advantage of any opportunities they may qualify for.  UW-La Crosse now offers students a searchable database of available scholarships with the ability to apply for them online.  Be sure to also search any keywords that may describe your situation, such as you specific college or year. The following scholarships are targeted primarily towards Geography/Earth Science students:

Geography Scholarships

Earth Science Scholarships

2017 Ryan M. Poehling Memorial Scholarship Recipient

The UWL Geography and Earth Science Department is pleased to announce the 2017 Ryan Michael Poehling Scholarship has been awarded to Jackson Radenz.  The Geography and Earth Science Department would like to congratulate Jackson on this outstanding achievement!

Past Recipients
2017 Jackson Radenz   2008 Martin Elmer
2016 Sofia Kozidis   2007 Jameson Loesch
2015 Justine Bula    2006 John Lauermann
2014 Jonas Rugtvedt   2005 Nathan Koster   
2013 Steve Oxley   2004 Amber Minard 
2012 Cody Mertens   2003 Margaret Hollenhorst 
2011 Alexander Wegner   2002 Jennifer Hauser 
2010 Benjamin Uphoff    2001 Scott Leis
2009 Brett Mittelstaedt      

Ryan Poehling Scholarship

The UW-La Crosse Geography and Earth Science Department is proud to offer the Ryan Michael Poehling Memorial Scholarship Fund.  This fund was established by the Hank and Sandra Poehling family of La Crosse in honor of their son, Ryan, a 1995 honors graduate of UW-La Crosse who majored in Geography. Upon graduation from UW-La Crosse, Ryan continued to pursue his academic passions at the University of Florida in Gainesville. Nearing completion of his Ph.D., Ryan passed away on December 17, 2000. More on Ryan and his graduate work can be found here.

To be eligible for this award students must:

  • Have at least junior standing
  • Be a Geography Major
  • Have GPAs of 3.0 or higher

Student applications will be evaluated based on overall GPA and in-major GPA, extracurricular involvement (geography related or otherwise), responsibility in course work and research, potential as a future geography scholar, and student essays which are included in the application process and describe the student's future plans.  Recipients of the scholarship must personify the virtues of optimism and appreciation of life which characterized Ryan Poehling.  Students must have a demonstrated interest in attending graduate school in geography.  Applicants must complete a UW-La Crosse Scholarship Application along with an essay describing future professional plans including plans for graduate study in geography.  The application deadline for the Poehling Scholarship is early- to mid-November with forms and further details available in the Geography Department office located in 2004 Cowley Hall. The award amount may vary from year to year but typically runs about $2,000.