Department Chair

Colin Belby  Profile of Colin Belby  Office hours

Associate Professor
2021 Cowley Hall
cbelby@uwlax.edu
608.785.8339

Specialty areas:

Geomorphology, River Systems, Water Resources, Environmental Contamination

Academic Department Associate

Debra Gerke  Profile of Debra Gerke

Academic Department Associate
105 Graff Main Hall
dgerke@uwlax.edu
608.785.8333

Department People

Colin Belby  Profile of Colin Belby  Office hours

Associate Professor
2021 Cowley Hall
cbelby@uwlax.edu
608.785.8339

Specialty areas:

Geomorphology, River Systems, Water Resources, Environmental Contamination

Cynthia Berlin  Profile of Cynthia Berlin

Professor
2027 Cowley Hall
cberlin@uwlax.edu
608.785.8340

Specialty areas:

Remote Sensing, Vegetation Mapping, Climatology and Meteorology

Joan Bunbury  Profile of Joan Bunbury

Associate Professor
2025 Cowley Hall
jbunbury@uwlax.edu
608.785.8402

Specialty areas:

Paleoclimatology, biogeography, freshwater environments

Gargi Chaudhuri  Profile of Gargi Chaudhuri  Office hours

Associate Professor
2022 Cowley Hall
gchaudhuri@uwlax.edu
608.785.8338

Specialty areas:

GIS, Spatial Simulation Modeling, Land use and land cover change, Network Analysis, and Cartography.

John Kelly  Profile of John Kelly  Office hours

Assistant Professor
2023 Cowley Hall
jkelly@uwlax.edu
608.785.8341

Specialty areas:

rural Latin America; indigenous cultures, territorialities, and property rights;  forest-agriculture dynamics; participatory research mapping; protected areas

Niti Mishra  Profile of Niti Mishra  Office hours

Assistant Professor
2004 Cowley Hall
nmishra@uwlax.edu
608.785.8334

Specialty areas:

Remote Sensing, Cartography, GIScience

Paul Reyerson  Profile of Paul Reyerson  Office hours

Assistant Professor
2020 Cowley Hall
preyerson@uwlax.edu
608.785.6675

Specialty areas:

Climate change, soils, geomorphology, Driftless Region, natural history

Daniel Sambu  Profile of Daniel Sambu  Office hours

Associate Professor
2024 Cowley Hall
dsambu@uwlax.edu
608.785.8342

Specialty areas:

Water Resources, Natural Hazards, Sustainable Development, Environmental Conservation, Community Livelihood, Conservation photography

Retired Faculty

Dr. Rafique Ahmed - Emeritus (Deceased)
Ph.D. in Geography
Ohio State University
Years of teaching service: 1984 - 2015

Dr. Greg Chu - Emeritus
Ph.D. in Geography
University of Hawaii - Manoa
Years of teaching service: 1993 - 2010
E-Mail: chu.greg@eagle.uwlax.edu

Dr. Mehmet Aritan - Emeritus
Ph.D. in Geography
University of Kentucky
Years of teaching service: 1979 - 2009
E-mail: aritan.mehm@eagle.uwlax.edu

Dr. Harun Rashid - Emeritus
Ph.D. in Geography
University of Saskatchewan
Years of teaching service: 2004 - 2009
E-mail: rasid.haru@eagle.uwlax.edu

Dr. Dean Wilder - Emeritus
Ph.D. in Geography
University of Colorado - Boulder
Years of teaching service: 1978 - 2008
E-mail: wilder.dean@eagle.uwlax.edu

Dr. Robert Wingate - Emeritus
Ph.D. in Geography
University of Minnesota
Years of teaching service: 1965 - 2005
E-Mail: wingate.robe@eagle.uwlax.edu

Dr. Paul Stoelting - Emeritus
Ph.D. in Geography
University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee
Years of teaching service: 1986 - 2004
E-mail: stoeltin.paul@eagle.uwlax.edu

Dr. Virgil Holder - Emeritus
Ph.D. in Geography
University of Minnesota
Years of teaching service: 1965 - 2002
E-mail: holder.virg@eagle.uwlax.edu