### CBA History

The business program at the University of Wisconsin-La Crosse has its roots in the economics program initiated in the 1950's which was offered as both a minor in the College of Letters and Sciences and as a service to the teacher education social studies curriculum. By the early 1960's, the offerings were expanded to include majors in business administration and finance; all three areas were administered within the Department of Economics and Business Administration in the College of Letters and Science. Almost 40% of the graduates in Letters and Science were business majors, and growth in enrollment and employer demands led to adding another major, marketing.

In 1971 the School of Business Administration was created. The School split from the College of Letters and Science in 1974. The MBA degree was first offered in 1975. In 1981 the SBA was renamed the College of Business Administration. In the spring of 1982; the College's undergraduate program earned its initial accreditation by AACSB International. Additionally, in 1982, the *Small Business Development Center* (SBDC) was established in North Hall (re-named Wimberly). In 1987, both the graduate and undergraduate programs were fully accredited by AACSB International. Re-accreditations took place in 1992.

In 2000, the International Business major was developed and the Information Systems Department and IS major was added to the College. In 2002, both the undergraduate and graduate programs were reaccredited by AACSB International. The on-line MBA program started as collaboration between UW-La Crosse, UW-Eau Claire, and UW-Parkside. Foundation courses were first offered in spring 1997 in a shortened format (4-8 weeks), using full-motion video distance technology. In 1998-99, UW Oshkosh joined the consortium. In the fall 1999, foundation courses were delivered exclusively by the Internet. Development of the on-line MBA program was started in 2000-01 with delivery commencing in fall 2002. Students were awarded a degree from UW-Eau Claire. In 2005, the consortium was granted degree awarding authority from the Board of Regents.

#### **Milestones**

<u>1950s</u>

- Undergraduate program in economics established in College of Letters and Science
- 1956--- The first "real" business faculty member was hired, Cloyce Campbell.

#### <u>1960s</u>

- Undergraduate major in business administration established.
- Undergraduate major in finance established.

- 1968---Department of Economics and Business Administration (9 faculty) offers 35 courses.
- Undergraduate major in marketing established.

### <u>1970s</u>

- 1971---School of Business Administration (SBA) created due to demand for business programs.
- Thomas White named first director of the school with title of Associate Dean.
- SBA includes three departments---Accounting and Finance, Economics, Management and Marketing.
- 1972---13 faculty, 55 courses, and 630 students.
- 1973-1974---SBA splits from College of Arts, Letters and Sciences.
- Undergraduate major in accountancy established.
- 1974---P. Dean Russell named dean.
- Programs move from Grandview Building to Classroom Building (North Hall).
- 1975-1976---UW-L authorized to grant Master of Business Administration (MBA).
- First MBA classes offered in conjunction with UW-Eau Claire.
- MBA is first UW-L graduate program offered in the evening to meet the needs of business professionals and non-traditional students.
- 1976---William Perkett named dean.
- Use of computer technology begins.
- Enrollment---1,300.

## <u>1980s</u>

- 1981---SBA renamed College of Business Administration (CBA).
- 36 Faculty, 130 courses, and 1,900 students.
- 1982---AACSB accredits CBA undergraduate program.
- Small Business Development Center created.
- CBA adds associate dean position Homer Bates.
- Significant advances made in use of computer technology -IBM and Zenith donate equipment
- Enrollment 2,300.
- 1986----Ron Bottin named dean.
- 1987---AACSB reaccredits undergraduate programs, accredits graduate program.

## <u>1990s</u>

- 1990----Rex Fuller named dean.
- 1992---AACSB reaccredits undergraduate and graduate programs.
- Growth in international student and faculty exchange programs, particularly with Russia, Eastern European countries, France and China.
- Cooperative agreement begins with Mexican Universities.

- Number of graduates since school/college was formed in 1971 through December 1995: 4,859 bachelor's degrees and 423 MBAs.
- 1996---25<sup>th</sup> Anniversary

# <u>2000s</u>

- 2000----International Business Major added.
  - Information Systems department and major added.
  - o Bill Colclough named Dean
- 2002---AACSB Accreditation Reaffirmed
  - University of Wisconsin MBA Consortium Internet MBA Program offered by UW-Eau Claire UW-La Crosse UW-Oshkosh and UW-Parkside.
- 2005----University of Wisconsin MBA Consortium Internet MBA Program obtains degree granting authority by BOR.
- 2006--Bill Colclough appointed Interim Vice Chancellor for Finance and Administration
  - Bruce May appointed Interim Dean
- 2007---Bill Colclough appointed Interim Provost
  - Undergraduate enrollment 1769.
- 2008---Bill Colclough returns as Dean and Bruce May returns to Associate Dean & MBA Director.
- 2011---Deans Offices relocated to 138 Wimberly Hall in new Dean's Suite.
- 2012-Bruce E. May appointed as permanent Dean in July 2012.
  - Bill Colclough returns to teaching in Finance Department.
  - Glenn Knowles assumes role as Interim Associate Dean.
  - Full time MBA and International Program Director position added. Martina Skobic is hired to fill the position.
  - A total of 21 new teaching positions added since 2008 through Growth, Quality and Access Initiative.
  - Small Business Development Center (SBDC) receives both the Wisconsin State Award and the Mid-West Regional Award for Excellence.
- **2**013
  - o College is re-accredited by AACSB International
  - College receives prestigious national award- "2013 Council for Higher Education Accreditation (CHEA) Award for Outstanding Institutional Practice in Student Learning Outcomes."
  - College is featured in AACSB Biz Ed magazine.
  - New minor in Sustainable Business is offered
  - New minor in Health Information Systems Management offered.
  - Historic Wittich Hall is designated to be the new College of Business Administration building.

- **2014** 
  - o Center for Entrepreneurship and Innovation is launched.
- 2015
  - o Dean Bruce May retires and Dr. Laura Milner is appointed as new incoming dean.
  - Dean Laura Milner commences deanship on August 1, 2015
  - o Dr. Glenn Knowles continues as interim associate dean