THREE AWARD CATEGORIES:

Local Practitioner Award: Recognition of a deserving individual who focuses his/her responsibilities at a more local level in addressing all six award criteria.

Regional/Statewide Practitioner Award: Recognition of a deserving individual who has a broader range of influence at the regional or statewidelevel in addressing all six award criteria

Special Organizational Award: Recognition of a deserving organization that has furthered the advancement of regional and/or statewide health education and health promotion in Wisconsin thereby advancing the overall population priority of prevention and health improvement through empirically-based strategies and partnerships.

Six Award Criteria: (Nominees for this award should exemplify the following attributes)

- Demonstrates leadership and advocacy for health education and health promotion in Wisconsin.
- Empowers and supports others to enhance health through educational strategies.
- Demonstrates a commitment to health education and health promotion.
- Offers a clearly-articulated vision for the health of the citizenry.
- Advances the vision and priority of health enhancement through changes in health-related systems.
- Advances overall the priority of prevention and health improvement

AWARD SUBCOMMITTEE:

Gary D. Gilmore, M.P.H., Ph.D., MCHES, Chair Sheri Siemers, M.P.H., CHES Catherine Sendelbach, M.S., CHES

2024 Barbara A. Lange Memorial Award in Health Education

TO NOMINATE:

- Nominators are to submit support materials for a nominee in one category only.
- Support materials must include: (Note: Support material should be no more than 10 pages.)
 - a. One letter of nomination (may be co-signed).
 - b. A minimum of three letters of support (there can be more than three).
 - c. Resume or vita for the nominee.
 - d. Additional support material (e.g., as appropriate: news articles; significant publications).

DEADLINE DATE: All materials must be emailed OR postmarked by September 19, 2024.

Please email or mail the materials to Dr. Gilmore at: ggilmore@uwlax.edu

Gary D. Gilmore, M.P.H., Ph.D., MCHES University of Wisconsin-La Crosse 418F Wimberly Hall 1725 State St. La Crosse, WI 54601



QUESTIONS?

ggilmore@uwlax.edu or 608.785.8163

www.uwlax.edu/when



2024 Barbara A. Lange Memorial Award in Health Education

Barbara A. Lange was an avid public health professional in Wisconsin for 25 years. She served in various responsibilities with the Bureau of Public Health, particularly focusing on health education and health promotion strategies. She was indefatigable in her efforts to promote the health and well-being of the citizenry by encouraging partnerships across the healthrelated professions. She served with numerous organizations and governing bodies, particularly the Wisconsin School Health Education Coalition, the Wisconsin Health Education Network. She is remembered with respect and admiration by those who knew her.

AWARD PRESENTATION: 2024 WHEN Annual Meeting October 3, 2024

A Virtual Event



PAST RECIPIENTS:

1995 Inaugural Award: Kenneth Baldwin, M.P.H.

1996 Award: Patrick Remington, M.D., M.P.H.

1997 Award: Norman E. McKonly, Jr.

1998 Award: Robert Jecklin, M.P.H.

1999 Award: Susan M. Uttech, M.S., CHES

2000 Award: Chet Bradley, M.S., CHES

2001 Award: Deborah L. Tackmann, M.E.P.D.

2002 Award: Janice M. Winters, RN, B.S.N., M.P.H.

2003 Award: Sheryl L. Gotts, M.S.

2004 Award: James M. Vergeront, M.D.

2005 Regional/Statewide Award: Mary L. Gothard, B.S., CHES

2005 Local Practitioner Award: Lori A. McMillan, M.F.A.

2006 Local Practitioner Award: John E. Mielke, M.D.

2006 Local Practitioner Award: Rebecca Meert, CHES

Barbara A. Lange Memorial Award in Health Education

2007 Regional/Statewide Award: Jon Hisgen, M.S., CHES

2008 Regional/Statewide Award: Mary Pesik, RD, CD, CLE

2008 Local Practitioner Award: Francie A. Peardon

2009 Regional/Statewide Award: James Kazmierczak, D.V.M.

2009 Regional/Statewide Award: Reghan Walsh

2010 Local Practitioner Award: Paula J. Silha, B.S., CHES

2011 Regional/Statewide Award: Brenda L. Rooney, Ph.D., M.P.H.

2012 Regional/Statewide Award: Gary Hollander, Ph.D.

2013 Regional/Statewide Award: Linda A. Lee, M.S., M.P.H.

2013 Local Practitioner Award: Mary P. Rosecky, RN, B.S.N., CHES

2015 Regional/Statewide Award: Sherri Ohly, B.S.S.W.

2015 Regional/Statewide Award: Sheri Siemers, M.P.H., CHES

2015 Local Practitioner Award: Kate Noelke, M.P.H., CHES **2016 Joint Regional/Statewide Award:** Millie Jones, M.P.H.

2016 Joint Regional/Statewide Award: Michael Vaughn, M.S-HSA

2016 Local Practitioner Award: Amy Olejniczak, M.S., M.P.H.

2017 Regional/Statewide Award: Vicki Huntington, B.A.

2017 Regional/Statewide Award: Nancy Sonnleitner, RHIT, CTR

2017 Regional/Statewide Award: Christy Vogt, M.P.H.

2018 Local Practitioner Award: Aaron Ruff, B.S., CHES

2019 Regional/Statewide Award: Catherine Sendelbach, M.S., CHES

2020 Local Practitioner Award: Anne M. Kuski-Cirilli, CHES

2020 Regional/Statewide Award: Jessica Link Reeve, M.P.H., Dr.PH, MCHES

2021 Local Practitioner Award: Rachel E. King, M.P.H., MCHES

2022 Special Organizational Award: Wisconsin Division of Public Health

2023 Special Organizational Award: YMCA Greater Green Bay