

UNIVERSITY OF WISCONSIN-LA CROSSE STUDENT ASSOCIATION

235 CARTWRIGHT CENTER 1725 STATE STREET LA CROSSE, WI 54601 (608) 785-8717

SA1516-40: Resolution Supporting AB 814 to Restore Student Shared Governance Statutes Prior to Wisconsin Act 55

DATE: February 2nd, 2016

AUTHOR(S): Jacob Schimmel (State Affairs Director)

SPONSOR(S): Patrick Brever, Kaylee Otterbacher, Rebecca Steck, Lauren Mason, Madi Bentdahl

WHEREAS; Wisconsin State Assembly Bill 814 was recently introduced with the purpose of restoring the University of Wisconsin system shared governance policy in its form prior to Act 55;

WHEREAS; Wisconsin State Statute 36.09(5) previously allowed for students to have the "primary responsibility for the formulation and review of policies concerning student life, services, and interests", and that this was to be done in "consultation with the Chancellor" at each institution;

WHEREAS; Wisconsin State Statute 36.09(5) currently reduces the role of students by stating they are "active participants in the immediate governance of and policy development for the institution";

WHEREAS; the UW-L Student Association guides itself by the idea that decisions affecting students should be a collaborative effort with students having the primary role in the process;

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED; the Student Association of the University of Wisconsin - La Crosse does not believe that current shared governance policy gives students proper representation over decisions that affect them.

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED; the Student Association of the University of Wisconsin- La Crosse fully supports the restoration of student shared governance proposed in Assembly Bill 814.

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED; upon its passing, a copy of this resolution is to be sent to State Senator Jennifer Shilling, State Representative Jill Billings, State Representative Doyle, State Representative David Murphy, and University of Wisconsin System President Ray Cross.

Molly Davies Date
President, Student Senate

Vice-President, Student Association

02-17-2016

Kaylee Otterbacher President, Student Association Date