

## UNIVERSITY OF WISCONSIN-LA CROSSE STUDENT ASSOCIATION

235 CARTWRIGHT CENTER 1725 STATE STREET LA CROSSE, WI 54601 (608) 785-8717

## SA1516-048: Resolution Reaffirming a UW-L Value

DATE: March 22<sup>nd</sup>, 2016

AUTHOR(S): Yousaf Almazrou

SPONSOR(S): Faculty Senate, Rebecca Steck

WHEREAS; anti-Muslim rhetoric has significantly developed in the past few months across the nation;

and

WHEREAS; Senator Almazrou worked closely with a few faculty members on drafting a statement that

will be subsequently addressed by a UW-L high-level administrator to the general public; and

WHEREAS; Senator Almazrou and his team have reached out to all the governance groups seeking

sponsorships; and

WHEREAS; I, the author, highly encouraged my fellow Senators to approve this resolution maintaining

the following;

WHEREAS; "The negative rhetoric and increasing discrimination against Muslims across the United States compels our campus community to reaffirm one of our core values, that of recognizing and embracing 'the strength that resides in our human diversity, both culturally and intellectually.' We are committed to the inclusion and acceptance of people of all religious beliefs. We reject hostility and hateful rhetoric directed at Muslims, and we oppose religious bigotry and racism in all its forms.

As a campus, our mission is to serve the community 'by providing a welcoming environment that facilitates learning opportunities, embraces diversity, and enriches the campus experience.' As faculty, staff, and students, we are dedicated to creating a welcoming environment for Muslims in and beyond our community. We value the contributions made every day by Muslim faculty, staff, and students at UWL. By cultivating friendships with Muslims and challenging Islamophobia, we renew our commitment to being a community that respects and celebrates different beliefs in our pursuit of knowledge and peace in the 21st century."

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED; University of Wisconsin-La Crosse Student Association approves and sponsors this resolution.

Molly Davies President, Student Senate

Vice-President, Student Association

03-30-2016

Date

03-30-2016

Date

Kaylee Øtterbacher

President, Student Association