

UNIVERSITY OF WISCONSIN-LA CROSSE STUDENT ASSOCIATION

2244 THE U 1705 BADGER STREET LA CROSSE, WI 54601 (608) 785-8775

SA1819-039: Resolution in Support of UW-La Crosse's Residence Hall Building Project

DATE: 3/11/2019

AUTHOR(S): Benjamin O'Connell, Legislative Affairs Committee

SPONSOR(S): Haley Jurecki, Dylan Schock, Gunnar Horstman, Faith Fisher, K.C. Cayo,

Alex Becker, Mark Moralez, Abby Hennessy

WHEREAS the UW-La Crosse Residence Hall Building project was approved by the UW System Board of Regents to utilize a 30-year borrowing plan "which provides for a more affordable cost to students by lowering fees over a longer time frame" and was included in the previous biennium capital budget request for FY2017-2019; and

WHEREAS the UW-La Crosse Residence Hall Building project was also included in the Board of Regents priorities in the FY2019-21, FY2017-19, and FY2015-17 capital budget requests as well; and

WHEREAS Governor Evers did not include the UWL Residence Hall in his 2019-2021 capital recommendations; and

WHEREAS UWL has maintained enrollment around 10,500 students each year since 2013 and had a record number of 10,569 students in the Fall of 2018; and

WHEREAS the addition of a Residence Hall is essential for maintaining quality living conditions for our students; and

WHEREAS UWL has over 1,000 students living in triple-double dorm rooms, meaning that three (3) students live in rooms built for two (2) people and has also had to convert study rooms into group rooms in order to accommodate students, affecting their standard of living; and

Haley Jurecki

President, Student Senate
Vice President, Student Association

03-13-2019

Date

Benjamin O'Connell

President, Student Association

03-13-2019

Date



UNIVERSITY OF WISCONSIN-LA CROSSE STUDENT ASSOCIATION

2244 THE U 1705 BADGER STREET LA CROSSE, WI 54601 (608) 785-8775

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED that UWL Student Association encourages the State Building Commission to add this project to the 2019-2021 capital budget; and

THEREFORE BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that upon the passage of this resolution, it shall be sent to the members of the 2019 State Buildings Commission, including Governor Tony Evers, Rep. Rob Swearingen, Sen. Janis Ringhand, Sen. Patrick Testin, Sen. Jerry Petrowski, Rep. Jill Billings, Rep. Mark Born, and Summer Strand.

Haley Jurecki President, Student Senate

Vice President, Student Association

Date

03-13-2019

03-13-2019

Benjamin O'Connell
President, Student Association

Date