

## UNIVERSITY OF WISCONSIN-LA CROSSE STUDENT ASSOCIATION

2244 THE U 1705 BADGER STREET LA CROSSE, WI 54601 (608) 785-8775

## SA1920-006: Resolution to Support Survivors of Sexual Assault

DATE: September 9 2019 AUTHOR(S): Sita Agterberg

SPONSOR(S): Brice Hansen, Nick Shankey, Camoya Evans, Jake Myers, Nate Perkins, Cameron Neader, Avery McLain, Dylan Schock, Sophia Jaume, Alaina Goodreau, Nancy Lee, Joshua Fiegel, Cate Wiza, Karch Cvancara, Hui Xin Wong, Cait McReavy, Jaci

Hinz, Cecilia Hook, Evelynn Yuengst, Jasmine Fields, Cody Lichtfuss

WHEREAS sexual violence is a prevalent issue at UW-La Crosse; and

WHEREAS according to National Sexual Violence Resource Center, an estimated 1 in 5 women and 1 in 16 men have experienced some form of sexual violence during their undergraduate career and nearly half of nonbinary and transgender individuals will experience sexual violence in their lifetime; and

WHEREAS survivors of sexual assault deserve to be empowered and supported by their peers; and

WHEREAS survivors of sexual assault have the right to ultimately decide whether or not they wish to file a report and this decision should be respected; and

WHEREAS students should feel comfortable and safe on campus; and

WHEREAS Student Senate would like to express that survivors of sexual assault are not alone in their fight for justice;

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED Student Association supports survivors of sexual violence at UW- La Crosse.

Dana Nielsen

President, Student Senate

Vice President, Student Association

09/18/2019

Date

09/18/2019

Defin agently

President, Student Association

Date