Biology (MS)

Expand page menu
Skip to page menu

Biology graduate faculty

Michael Abler Profile of Michael Abler
Associate Professor
3020 Cowley Hall
mabler@uwlax.edu
608.785.6962
Anita Baines Profile of Anita Baines
Associate Professor
4032 Cowley Hall
abaines@uwlax.edu
608.785.8239
Scott Cooper Profile of Scott Cooper
Professor
3022 Cowley Hall
scooper@uwlax.edu
608.785.6983
Specialty areas:

Effects of hibernation on blood clotting in 13-lined ground squirrels.

Sierra Colavito Profile of Sierra Colavito
Assistant Professor
4031 Cowley Hall
scolavito@uwlax.edu
608.785.6998
Specialty areas:

Breast Cancer Cell Biology

Anne Galbraith Profile of Anne Galbraith
Associate Professor
3025 Cowley Hall
agalbraith@uwlax.edu
608.785.8246
Specialty areas:

Genetics, genetic disorders, genetics, moleular biology, genetics, baker's yeast, genetics

Roger Haro Profile of Roger Haro
Csh - Associate Dean (Interim)
105E Graff Main Hall
rharo@uwlax.edu
608.785.6970
Specialty areas:

Aquatic entomology, river ecology, mercury transport in freshwater foodwebs and the landscape ecology of watersheds, higher education analytics.

Tisha King-Heiden Profile of Tisha King-Heiden
Associate Professor
3028 Cowley Hall
tking-heiden@uwlax.edu
608.785.6463
Specialty areas: Reproductive physiology & toxicology; developmental toxicology
Sumei Liu Profile of Sumei Liu Office hours
Professor
0040 Health Science Center
sliu@uwlax.edu
608.785.6971
Specialty areas:

Gastrointestinal Physiology; Enteric Nervous System

Margaret Maher Profile of Margaret Maher
Professor
0024 Health Science Center
mmaher@uwlax.edu
608.785.6967
Specialty areas: Nutrition and Endocrinology
Jennifer Miskowski Profile of Jennifer Miskowski
Professor
3018 Cowley Hall
jmiskowski@uwlax.edu
608.785.6456
Todd Osmundson Profile of Todd Osmundson
Associate Professor
3034 Cowley Hall
tosmundson@uwlax.edu
608.785.6975
Specialty areas: Biodiversity & conservation, Biogeography, Bioinformatics, DNA barcoding, Metagenomics, Molecular phylogenetics, Mycology, Population Genetics, Systematics
Anton Sanderfoot Profile of Anton Sanderfoot Office hours
Associate Professor
4033 Cowley Hall
asanderfoot@uwlax.edu
608.785.8240
Specialty areas:

Plant cell biology, protein secretion, genetic screens, molecular biology, microscopy

Mark Sandheinrich Profile of Mark Sandheinrich
Csh - Dean (Interim)
105 Graff Main Hall
msandheinrich@uwlax.edu
608.785.8261
Specialty areas:

Aquatic toxicology, fish ecology

Christine Schwartz Profile of Christine Schwartz
Assistant Professor
0023 Health Science Center
cschwartz@uwlax.edu
608.785.6974
Specialty areas:

Neuroscience, Physiology, Hibernation biology

Gregory Sandland Profile of Gregory Sandland
Professor
2032 Cowley Hall
gsandland@uwlax.edu
608.785.6982
Specialty areas:

Host-parasite interactions, life-history evolution, disease ecology, invasive species dynamics, mathematical biology

Bradley Seebach Profile of Bradley Seebach Office hours
Associate Professor
0042 Health Science Center
bseebach@uwlax.edu
608.785.6964
Specialty areas:

Neurophysiology, Human Anatomy & Physiology; advising Biomedical Science Concentrators

Eric Strauss Profile of Eric Strauss
Professor
2033 Cowley Hall
estrauss@uwlax.edu
608.785.8262
Specialty areas:

Limnology, Ecosystem Ecology, Water Quality

Meredith Thomsen Profile of Meredith Thomsen
Professor
3026 Cowley Hall
mthomsen@uwlax.edu
608.785.8245
Specialty areas:

Plant ecology, invasive species, ecological restoration, habitat fragmentation

Thomas Volk Profile of Thomas Volk
Professor
3024 Cowley Hall
tvolk@uwlax.edu
608.785.6972
Specialty areas:

Mycology, Plant Pathology, especially Forest Pathology

Microbiology graduate faculty

Bonnie Bratina Profile of Bonnie Bratina
Associate Professor
3029 Cowley Hall
bbratina@uwlax.edu
608.785.6994
Specialty areas:

Microbial ecology, Aquatic microbiology, Biogeochemistry

Michael Hoffman Profile of Michael Hoffman
Professor
3023 Cowley Hall
mhoffman@uwlax.edu
608.785.6984
Specialty areas:

Virology, Director of the Microbiology Master's Programs

Marc Rott Profile of Marc Rott
Associate Professor
3030 Cowley Hall
mrott@uwlax.edu
608.785.6965
William Schwan Profile of William Schwan Office hours
Professor
3027 Cowley Hall
wschwan@uwlax.edu
608.785.6980
Specialty areas:

Pathogenic bacteriology, drug discovery and preclinical testing, uropathogenic Escherichia coli virulence/gene regulation, Staphylococcus aureus virulence/gene regulation

Bernadette Taylor Profile of Bernadette Taylor
Associate Professor
3004 Cowley Hall
btaylor@uwlax.edu
608.785.6990
Specialty areas: Immunology